Skip to content

MOTC 2

May 15, 2006

to follow up on MOTC

I ended by writing:

we can talk about the church as a whole which is in fact much easier. It doesn't get personal then. But it comes down to there are churches (which just means a gathering of people for a purpose) all over the place. Do you or the group your in deliver the Gospel? Are you seeing people set free? If not are you following Jesus?

If you do understand and have freedom what about the words of paul from Galatians 5

1Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.

2I am emphatic about this. The moment any one of you submits to circumcision or any other rule-keeping system, at that same moment Christ's hard-won gift of freedom is squandered. 3I repeat my warning: The person who accepts the ways of circumcision trades all the advantages of the free life in Christ for the obligations of the slave life of the law.

4I suspect you would never intend this, but this is what happens. When you attempt to live by your own religious plans and projects, you are cut off from Christ, you fall out of grace. 5Meanwhile we expectantly wait for a satisfying relationship with the Spirit. 6For in Christ, neither our most conscientious religion nor disregard of religion amounts to anything. What matters is something far more interior: faith expressed in love.

Are you squandering Christ's hard won gift of freedom?

more later.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2006 1:26 pm

    Thanks! I needed that 2×4 upside the head….

  2. May 15, 2006 4:18 pm

    Maybe you need to move your work and practice (do architects “practice” their profession like doctors and attorneys do?) down here to Picayune, Tommy, and help in the work of God’s children here, which I’m becoming excited about (we’ll have to talk).

    My mom told me a little while ago that the church here was written up in the Highland bulletin there in Abilene yesterday because Highland is financially helping in the work it is doing in ongoing disaster relief and the big warehouse it is building (with an architect mentioned, she said, on Picayune cofC’s website, and I told her, yes, it was YOU as far as I knew).

    Houston Costolo, one of the shepherds and a long time friend, was telling me last week about some of the times being planned and the change of direction coming about – all for the better, IMHO.

    You know Pearl River County is now and has been for a good while the fastest growing county in the state of Mississippi and I am already working on trying to get Patrick Mead to come do a seminar for the church next February when he comes down to Louisiana (I’m going to work on the same for Tammany Oaks, too).

    I also put Houston in touch with Anthony Parker (of “Clay Pot Journal” blog linked from mine) who is on his way home from the mission field in Africa to see if a ministry here might be in his future, Lord willing. Anthony is good friends with Tod and Candace Vogt, too, of Tammany Oaks.

    So . . . please pray about all of these things with me, TCS. Beginning with my first words – about you considering moving your work here, both as an architect and as a Christian. You and Kim would be of invaluable service and help in every way here in Picayune. I’m serious.

    Sometimes God calls us to not just move out of our current “building” or across town, but to a new and different calling all together, beginning with a servant’s heart seeking to follow God where He would lead us, although we might not be thinking of going anywhere else at all.

    Just look at how these things have happened, and ARE continuing to happen, here for us – for me – in doors opening where I (we) never expected them to even as we stepped out (in faith) over the edge of the precipice in front of us. Our brick wall to our back was a different one than the one you have to your back, but sometimes they can serve the same purpose.

    I’m not throwing out these thoughts and “suggestions” lightly, by the way. I’m completely serious in them all.

    It seems to me you should be able engage in your work just as well, or much better, here than where you are, although I know you’ve been there a long time now and it is a bit closer to Tennessee, if that is a consideration. It’s not THAT much further away.

    We’ll have to talk.

    Think about these things. Reflect on them and pray about them. Change your focus from how things are NOT going to how God can work through you in a new and different place in new and different ways where you may be much more needed than you could ever imagine.

    I think God has our paths cross in this life for His purposes many times if we but will seek them out. He often uses others to help us see things in a new and different way we never thought before. To dream dreams we hadn’t dreamed before and to see new visions for our lives. Don’t you think? Perhaps? Just maybe?

  3. May 16, 2006 11:43 am

    I’m so thankful God is TRULY bringing this into focus for me (finally!). He has used countless tactics to get my attention (including your blog!) and resurrect His divine purpose in my life.

    I am weary from knowledge… Though I’m thankful for Scripture, I am more hungry for an experience with God (the real transformative power of the Holy Spirit) than ever before, and I think the word is part of that, but not all-encompassing.

    I don’t want to be able to quote it as much as I crave living it.

Leave a Reply

