Skip to content

yesterday

May 15, 2006

Before I get to MOTC 2, I wanted to write something about yesterday.

I told John T. that he was messing up my mascara. But that's later.

We were sitting behind Amy and John yesterday. It was Amy's dad's last sermon here after 28 years of ministry in this town. His lesson was very short. It was about going to the potter's house. As he spoke I couldn't help but think about almost 20 years ago when I first listened to this man. About how that house on Aspen would always be the Smithson's house. About how Amy in someways will not get to come home here again. About in years past how many good laughs we have shared.

I also thought about how I learned about the Holy Spirit from John T. about how many times I had learned about providence from him as well. He mentioned it again yesterday. He spoke of how that some times we feel that our lives are being torn apart or ruined. That we were becoming something and now that is lost. The potter may be making us into something even better and that may require the old to be "ruined". God's word is like a many faceted jewel. You keep turning it and you keep getting other lessons. I received comfort in those words yesterday.

John T. changed the Pride of the Yankees famous line to say that Today he was one of the most blessed men on the face of the earth.

May God continue to bless John T. and Ann.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2006 11:34 am

    I like that thought…I need to be ruined, basically to be mashed flat before God can continue his reshping of me…

    I know you are going to miss this family who has meant so much to you.

  2. May 15, 2006 2:42 pm

    Okay, you’re messing up my mascara. I will really miss you all in Starkville, but I’m not going to think about it right now!

  3. May 15, 2006 3:47 pm

    I’ve been feeling that way, SO much the past several days – this last confinement – Tommy:

    “He spoke of how that some times we feel that our lives are being torn apart or ruined. That we were becoming something and now that is lost. The potter may be making us into something even better and that may require the old to be “ruined”.”

    I certainly feel like a messed up lump of clay. Most decidedly today. So I pray that God is being the potter thinking about how He is going to shape me and re-shape me into something useful, if not beautiful by this earth’s standards.

    Thanks for your posts of late. I’ve been reading them all, but not commenting so much because I’ve felt so bad. I’m feeling better somewhat physically today, but can’t keep back the tears. Blue Monday, I suppose it is, but I’m listening to Harding chorus with David Slater at the moment hear on my computer speakers on their “Teach Me Lord to Wait” CD, which I think is their best, although I’ve just ordered Harding’s “The Greatest Commands” to add to my collection of a cappella (and am sending one to my mom).

    She’s a MOTC, by the way! ha! I’ve been thinking about that – MOTC post – all weekend and how many thousands of times I’ve heard that phrase and used it in my life.

    I’ve got to read Part 2, now, to see what you’ve added.

Leave a Reply

