Skip to content

Let Us Pray

May 25, 2006

Lettuce Spray…. get it …. Let us Pray

Somewhere along the line I was taught that only MOTC should "lead" prayers. Well of course I was taught that only males should do so as well. As for little chuck who walked the aisle at 8 years old, he could lead prayer, but Mr. x who had attended "faithfully" (see past post for usage of this word in this context) for 40 years (but remained unbaptised) could not. Not to mention some extremely godly women.

I was reminded the other day of the passage where Jesus says there are two kinds of people. No it wasn't the kind that think there are two kinds of people and the kind that know the world is more complicated than that. In comparing two men that went to pray he said one went home justified before God and one just went home.

What reminded me of this was a guy who was asked to say a prayer that might not even call himself a God follower. He is interested, beginning, honest. Prayers from people like this are to be treasured. He didn't know all the phrases and lingo to throw in. He didn't hit all the usual high points. But it sounded like he was talking to God.

I have grown in my understanding of prayer, and I try to speak to God as a friend. I normally now follow Stephen's example and pray to Jesus. But I go through spurts. To be honest I guess I pray daily, but not always without ceasing. Prayer is much more than a habit. But at times it is a discipline. Kim and I have disciplined ourselves that I don't leave the house in the morning without out us praying. We normally pray against the evil we will face that day.

Do you have any suggestions to share on growing a prayer life that is real and vibrant? What about experiences with prayers from those that go home justified?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2006 9:45 am

    My prayer life grows when I am consistent and honest, no pretenses, just my broken sometimes ugly self before God.

    And just like any other relationship, if I lose touch the relationship suffers…

  2. May 25, 2006 12:45 pm

    Prayer is such an intimate, private thing for me. I can’t even lead a prayer in our ladies class without crying. I can pray before lunch at our community seminars because that’s the thing to do but to actually talk to the creator of the universe through one who died just so I might come see him… it makes me cry now.

  3. May 25, 2006 2:24 pm

    I have regular times that I pray, but I have been trying to also develope what I would call conversational pray through out the day. Over the years I have spent a lot of time taking to myself and I just decided that when I find myself doing that, I redirect and take these thoughts to the Father. Even trivial things. I try a picture myself walking with the Lord as the disciples did, and just carrying on a conversation.

  4. May 26, 2006 9:38 am

    I guess I, too, am trying to do what Lee decribes, by nurturing (or maybe it’s being nutured by) an ongoing conversation.

    I like that you pray with Kim before you leave the house in the morning. My wife is a morning person but, unfortunately, I am not.

    In the past, I’ve stayed away from “prayer books.” Then I started reading the Psalms with an eye towards prayers that could come out of them, sort of like making someone elses prayers and songs my own prayers and songs. I’ve also been making my way through the Book of Common Prayer this year.

  5. May 27, 2006 12:14 pm

    Sorry to be late in my comment here, but I read it Thursday evening and have been thinking about it.

    I, similar to what Lee and Ray said, decided a long time ago to make my thoughts all day long throughout the day “open to God,” if you will.

    It required some discipline (and still does) on my part, but has gotten much easier and more comfortable to the point that I feel – overall – God is right here within me as I do each and everything I do. I feel His presence within me and He goes with me wherever I go all day long, within me in how I talk with the people I talk with, whether in person or on the phone. In every way.

    I try to always think – even when blogging or writing comments or talking with someone – in a “prayerful” way, conversational way, I guess you’d say, that includes what God would have me do or say and that He will consider my thoughts as prayers to Him for guidance and for others, etc.

    I also pray about specific things at specific times, of course, but as I’ve drawn closer to God in my thought processes and routines of daily living, those seem to me to be the most important “prayers” of my life. The most important part of my life.

    And, you know what? When even little things in life happen – like finding a good parking spot or not having to wait in line, etc – I always in my mind thank God for those small, but relevant, blessings. I thank Him in all. When the things DON’T go well, I ask Him to help me endure and deal with it and to not lose my patience – which I surely do many times!

    I slip up – often – and let thoughts run rampant in my head without including God and those are miserable times. I fail and I stumble. But as soon as I realize where I am in my mind – too far away from my Father, I immediately change course and pick up again with the ongoing conversations in my head with God.

    I started out with all of this a long time ago after I left Picayune the first time and began for the first time commuting to work and being in the car along for 45 minutes or an hour every morning on the way to work. Over the years my commute time got longer and longer and I tried to always spend at least the morning drive in prayer without music or anything playing in the car.

    I came to really treasure those times and always asked for God to send someone to me each day for me to be of service to and He always did! It was amazing and led me to an ever greater appreciation for the power of prayer and the importance and vitality of prayer for my own life.

    You and Kim are to be commended for praying together each morning about the day to come. That was what I was doing during my commutes and it made a huge difference in my life. I think – I know – you’ll find the same will be true for yours, Tommy.

  6. May 29, 2006 5:49 am

    Listen first. Then speak.

  7. Anonymous permalink
    July 17, 2006 7:14 pm

    Hey what a great site keep up the work its excellent.
    »

  8. Anonymous permalink
    July 19, 2006 2:10 pm

    Very best site. Keep working. Will return in the near future.
    »

  9. Anonymous permalink
    July 20, 2006 1:06 pm

    I find some information here.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    July 23, 2006 9:59 pm

    Here are some latest links to sites where I found some information: http://google-index.info/114.html or http://indexmachine.info/1772.html

Leave a Reply

