Skip to content

Roman collar

June 1, 2006

Do I look like this? A student was telling me about a church she attends in the summer and said AND I QUOTE, "You would love it! You would fit IN there."

I have got to quit wearing my Roman collar when I teach.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2006 12:30 pm

    Hmmm. Are you sure you would fit in with collars???

  2. June 1, 2006 12:39 pm

    Well I don’t have an opinion cause I don’t know what you look like. But somehow I don’t think the collar would be for you. Just a guess.

  3. June 1, 2006 1:22 pm

    TCS:

    I read the following words in the comment section over at preachermike’s blog:

    ***Those quotes are why the culture of a church are so important. If its a place filled with and always talking of Grace, a place where broken people can be broken and still loved. A multitude of things said “wrong” can be covered. But when its the opposite, we learn things that may go unsaid but are implied. That we have to get it all right. That we have to be perfect. That God loves you, but not really. Sad, Sad stuff.***

    Truer words have never been spoken! Wow! There’s a full-fledged post in there somewhere, brother. You and Kramer need to put your heads together and come up with something!

  4. June 1, 2006 5:24 pm

    Tommy –

    You have GOT to “fix” your blog, kiddo!! You know how I am – everything organized and neat and in its proper place, etc, and your oversized ad of yesterday has the rest of your page all whumper-jawed, as Tom would say.

    And, what’s with the masthead across the top, too? The pictures aren’t as big and I couldn’t figure out what the “www.thomasstewart.net” was all about. I tried going to it, but it left me (or brought me right back) here.

    I’m fit to be tied here over your blog page. It’s just like when we go to someone’s home or doctor’s offices or such and I immediately want to straighten all the pictures on the walls that are at an angle! Tom has to practically sit on me to keep me from doing that, laughing his head off the entire time, of course, and explaining to me over and over that these places belong to someone else and not me and that my “helpfulness” is not needed, nor should I interfere.

    Just like he won’t let me tear out all of the ad inserts in every magazine I pick up anywhere that’s not mine. That’s the very first thing I do when ours come in in the mail. I mean – doesn’t it just drive you crazy to try to look and and/or read a magazine that has a bunch of stiff paper ad inserts in it that keep the pages from falling open like they should?? Doesn’t it?

    I know – don’t tell me. I’m obsessive/compulsive (to put it nicely), just as I am about editing my blog posts over and over both as I write them and after I’ve posted them.

    I’m truly not totally nuts, though, you know? Or a perfectionist. I just want things to be “right” and my work to be the best I can do (and spelled correctly, with proper syntax, etc).

    You’re an architect, for goodness sakes. Don’t you have to be precise and absolutely “on the mark” with your architectural drawings and plans, etc?

    Thank goodness we can “miss the mark” as Christians and that God through Jesus Christ makes up the difference.

    As for your Roman collar – I’ve met you and spent time with you both here and on the phone, and believe me – you don’t belong in one. You’re much better exactly the way you are, whatever that may be, than being “stifled” like that.

    BTW – how are your plans for the building here for the C of C coming?! Or are they? Just wondering . . ..

    Cheers! Dee

  5. June 1, 2006 5:59 pm

    Happy?

    yes http://www.believingthomas.net brings you here. For now.

    The mast head you will have to live with. For now.

    Nothing is perfect. For now.

  6. June 2, 2006 9:56 am

    Well, on MY computer here your page is still not “fixed.” It’s better (you obviously made the ad some smaller), but all of your right side information is still down below all of the posts.

    Really, Tommy – you’ve GOT to reduce that ad aize more or take it out entirely and make your page beautiful again.

    I know, I know. Nothing is perfect – for now.

    Cheers, anyway! Dee–>

Leave a Reply

