Skip to content

What happened to these?

June 2, 2006


So what was your favorite tract?

I remember some of these. There was of course the "Why I left the ______ church". And I remember one by Ruble Shelly that started with the Iranian proverb, "Would you kick a blind man? Why should you be more kind than God." I don't remember what it was about but I remember that beginning.

Of course there was room for the famous or was it infamous "Blue and White cards" I occasionally still see one in a bible. You know those Church of Christ cheat sheets. You pull them out when you are in a pickle and need a verse on Repentance or on Sin.

So for this Friday, humor me with some tracts that you remember.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2006 10:08 am

    I don’t remember ANY in particular, myself. So, what do you suppose that says about me? I sure read my share of them, but obviously promptly discarded them from my long term memory (and have even physically discarded a bunch of them when no one was looking – do you suppose that could be an “unpardonable” sin? I really have done that. Although, it’s been quite a few years. Am I going straight to . . .?)

    Even worse – I just realized a few moments ago that I’ve become a “one cupper.” Do you suppose I’m suffering from sort of regressive thinking/behavior disorder that will launch me backward (and rightward?) in time and mind to an ultra-conservative, right wing (Christian?) mentality that others tried very unsuccessfully to indocrinate me with in my youth?

    Actually, the “one cup only” only has to do with my decreased coffee drinking habits, so far, so maybe all is not lost.

    Still . . .

    As for the tract racks – if you will visit around Tommy in a lot of places probably not even too far away from where you are, I think you’ll find them still very much in evidence in churches.

  2. June 2, 2006 10:42 am

    Dee’s right… They’re still around. While working at Biblemart in Lubbock and 21st Century Christian in Nashville, I’ve sold plenty over the years! Tracts, correspondence courses AND yes… the tract racks!

    Bob Danklefsen and V.E. Howard had the most tracts. You can find an extensive list of them in the 21st CC catalog! Reading the titles of them is truly entertaining (not to mention revealing!).

    If you’ve got time on your hands… go to http://WWW.21STCC.COM and click on CATALOG. The tracts are in the EVANGELISM section. Go ahead… Knock yourself out!

    I sure do miss you and Kim! Can’t wait to see you again when I’m done traveling…

    Blessings,
    Ang

  3. June 2, 2006 10:45 am

    Hey Ang!

    Angie has some great stories of people calling and wanting 20th Century Christian not 21st Century! Tooooo Funny.

  4. June 2, 2006 10:49 am

    That is too funny as is the memory of these tract racks. I should remember some specific ones, but I think I’ve blocked them out.

    ’cause you know I was reading all of them…

  5. June 2, 2006 12:03 pm

    wasn’t there one called “Why the Church of Christ”

    I like Amy have blocked this from my mind….

  6. June 2, 2006 3:15 pm

    I actually thought that was a spice rack!

  7. June 2, 2006 4:09 pm

    “A Better World Begins With Me” … “Come Ye Out Away From Among Them!” … and my all-time favorite, “Someone Died And Left You A Fortune!”

    You could leave that last one on a table at an airport or a doctor’s office, and someone was BOUND to pick it up.

    – Only to put it down a moment later, realizing that it was all churchy stuff.

  8. Anonymous permalink
    June 2, 2006 9:25 pm

    I think I may still have one of the blue and white “cheat sheets” somewhere…..I know I still have a few of the notes I passed back and forth with Amy in church.

  9. June 2, 2006 11:35 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  10. June 3, 2006 5:55 am

    You must be referring to another Amy. I would NEVER pass notes during church. My father was preachin!

  11. June 3, 2006 8:06 am

    That tract rack is still up at Cloverdale Church of Christ and it has the same tracts as 30 years ago because nobody ever took one!

  12. June 3, 2006 9:35 pm

    “What Is The Church of Christ”; “The Blueprint”… funny, I can only remember two hummmm.

    We still have two racks up at Madison, both are empty.

  13. June 3, 2006 10:27 pm

    My grandfather penned several tracts. I still have some in my possession … somewhere … can’t recall titles.

    Anyway, he died in 2002. He handed out tracts as long as he was able, to the nursing home staff and everyone.

  14. June 4, 2006 12:55 am

    Wasn’t there a track called, “Are you ready?” I think it was about someone dying without repenting of their sin. If only they had gone forward on Sunday!

  15. June 4, 2006 1:09 am

    hi.. i’ve already finished the template.. want the zip file? contact me here: funk_zyde@yahoo.com

    have a nice day!

  16. June 4, 2006 10:02 pm

    Of course, there was the

    “‘Make Melody in Your Heart’ and other Commands from God that Mean More than You think They Logically Should”

    🙂

  17. January 4, 2008 2:27 pm

    ‘Disrespectful, conceited, sardonic, insolent’ describe the above.
    I don’t know who or what you are, but your attitudes are showing.
    You don’t sound much like Christians in any case.

  18. April 22, 2009 1:10 am

    I follow your blog for a long time and should tell you that your posts always prove to be of a high value and quality for readers.

Leave a Reply

