Skip to content

battle royal

June 6, 2006

Tonight at 8:30 the Christians battle Calvary! Calvary is a love hate thing you know.
at the same time the Church of Christ will battle 1st Baptist #2 which I think is a hilarious name.

By the way, for those of you out of touch, that is a picture of a $350 bat. That's right $350.00 . The comment section on people that spend $350 for a bat is now open.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2006 5:06 pm

    Well I have spent over $150 on a tennis racket, and it has to be re-strung!

  2. June 6, 2006 5:33 pm

    I was married to one who spent almost that much over 10 years ago!!! If it wasn’t the most expensive, he didn’t want it! It’s hard to believe that he found someone more expensive that I! Obviously, he knows now just how expensive I was!

  3. June 6, 2006 6:26 pm

    That’s cheaper than the $3,000 shower Tom thinks he wants to put in our new house. The operative word in that sentence is “thinks,” because he sure ain’t gettin’ it!

    Although a shower is a lot bigger than a baseball bat. In fact, as I first started scrolling down from the top of your page, I thought that was the handle of some fancy new toothbrush.

  4. June 6, 2006 8:51 pm

    Precisely why we’re shopping garage sales for a bat that someone else ate the depreciation on. 🙂

  5. June 6, 2006 9:50 pm

    $350 for a bat to play in the World Series – sure!

    $350 for a bat to play in the Minor Leagues – OK!

    $350 for a bat to play men’s slow-pitch softball – are you nuts???

    My hubby plays this game too (although he wouldn’t drop that kind of $ on a bat!) I just don’t get how competitive these games can be – it’s young to middle-aged men playing SLOW-PITCH softball!!!!

    Do I get to buy $350 dice for Bunco night?

  6. June 6, 2006 9:55 pm

    I used to sell that kind of stuff at Paragon Athletics in Manhattan. I got a 30% discount and bought Armani ski gear. Do I ski? No. Do I look good in ski gear?

    I should’ve used that $ on something like a car.

  7. June 6, 2006 10:19 pm

    I didn’t say I bought one. And for the record there are more expensive bats. And Amy a used bat is worthless. In fact if you let the whole team use a new one they have to rotate the hits on it and it is probably only good for one or maybe two seasons.

    Just because the ball is pitched slow doesn’t mean it can’t be competitive. And I would love to see what a season of Bunko (Christian Craps) costs including food, gifts, etc. I bet Softball is cheaper.

  8. June 7, 2006 6:59 am

    I owned a 1974 Buick Century that cost me $350. And about the same per month in gas.

  9. June 7, 2006 12:12 pm

    Just so you know….us ladies are all bringing powdered drink mixes, tea, coffee, etc. to Bunko Night, which will then be donated to the Jesus Coffeehouse (a place for the homeless to hang out) There are no prizes for us – just a fun time w/friends. (So there!) 😉

  10. June 7, 2006 12:34 pm

    1st Baptist #2? Yes, it is funny.

    $350 for a bat that “clinks” when the ball is hit? What’s the world coming to? 🙂

    But if it’s performance over auditory aesthetics, the CNT Carbon Nanotube technology can’t be touched by any purist’s bat. (I don’t know anything about softball bat technology, but I looked it up on a website and thought CNT Carbon Nanotube sounded impressive. I’m going to go now and use it in a sentence.)

Leave a Reply

