Skip to content

Believe Me / Don’t Believe Me 2

June 20, 2006

To borrow a line from a BMW ad, “It’s a rare luxury, having the autonomy to do what we believe is right….and while uncharted territory is unnerving to some, we know the greater risk lies in mediocrity.”

I am determined that for me and my family we will strive to serve Jesus. I believe more strongly in him and that he is alive than I ever have.

A few years ago, on a Sunday afternoon I was desperate. I got down on my knees in our bedroom and spoke to Jesus. I told him that I knew him to be one who made covenants and that he always kept them. I told him I would follow him anywhere, I would move or do whatever he wanted. But I asked that he be clear. My business was poor, it was (I was) in debt. Something had to give. I was sincere. I would have done anything, moved anywhere. But his answer was swift. I was woke the next morning with a client asking how soon I could meet to discuss a new job. I know a lot of people would dismiss that. But I don’t. My God is a God of providence. He is alive and well. He is active in our lives if we allow him to be. That day was one of many that I can look back on as pivotal in my life.

I believe that his kingdom, his will is much larger than I or others have often given it credit for being. I see it at work in all sorts of people and places around me. I see it being different for different people.

I believe he still calls people out to follow him as he did long ago. That call is often a tough one to follow. I think of Abram who must have said, “God, you’re here too, why do I need to go to another land?” I think of Joseph who MUST have questioned that dream of his about marrying his seemingly unfaithful fiancée. So many examples.

I believe that they are examples, not exceptions.

They are not people who were strangely close to the living God, but examples of how God can and will lead the most unlikely people if they are willing to follow him. Unlikely in that they were greatly flawed. Think of how many bibllcal “heroes” were messed up.

So, I ask you to believe that I seek to follow the risen Lord.

That in doing so, if I come to a conviction that I must and will do something different than you, it is not a rejection or a condemnation of your way. It is an attempt to drop my nets and follow him.

Like Peter on the water. He doubted. Notice he didn’t doubt Jesus. We often think he did. He called out to Jesus immediately when he started to sink. He knew Jesus could save him, he doubted himself or that the power had really been transferred to him. Sure he got out of the boat but then realized, I’m walking on water!

Jesus says to you, don’t doubt. I keep my promises to you. It is as I told you.

Believe him.

Post Script: Probably the second most famous verse from the book of John is when Jesus claims that he is the way, the truth and the life. He says HE is the way, not his system, not his plan, but he is and that is one reason why he is worthy of worship. And that is why our primary allegiance must always be to him. Everyone is betting their lives on something. I am betting mine on him.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2006 6:41 am

    I’ve often said to God, “I know you can fix it, I just don’t see how.” That’s the thing – I hate to give up but that’s what we’re asked to do… give up. Trust Him to do what’s right.

  2. June 21, 2006 7:41 am

    This is an encouraging post to me – thanks!

  3. June 21, 2006 8:43 am

    High fives my brother and right on!

  4. June 21, 2006 9:10 am

    Great point that it is not Jesus that Peter lost faith in, but his own ability to do what he was doing. It is hard to let go of our habits and traditions and just trust Jesus, but that is what I see you trying to do!

    Take a giant leap of faith!

  5. June 21, 2006 1:11 pm

    Thank you for your witness to faith in this post. I love your story (and your transparency) mixed with those of our favorite heroes of faith. Interesting take on Peter’s famous swim too.

  6. June 21, 2006 7:59 pm

    We’re always taught to give and give freely. Give without expecting rewards or return. Give without guilt.

    Sometimes, after all that giving, it’s hard to give guiltlessly to ourselves.

    But To give yourself the freedom to know Christ in such an intimate and loving way is a beautiful gift. A gift not given in haste.

    Take it. It’s a calling…of sorts. I believe, a blessing of freedom. *smile*

    Loving you and yours,
    Christi

  7. June 22, 2006 7:15 am

    Have you seen any of Rob Bell’s ‘NOOMA’ videos? In the one called “Dust”, he talks about following in the footsteps of your Rabbi & relates to Peter’s walking on water. They’re really good!

  8. June 22, 2006 11:14 am

    yes, I have all of those videos. the newest one “Rich” is good too. Rain, dust and Rhythmn are my favorites.

Leave a Reply

