Skip to content

What’s your standard

June 29, 2006

Playing the “Do you know what this is game”.

Its a plumb bob. Used to find plumb or true vertical in construction. Its an ancient tool.

It is possible that Jesus used one. There was a modern Roman city being built within view of Nazareth. So He may have been not a furniture maker carpenter but a builder in the stone mason sense of the word. Which might explain his use of stone analogies.

What do you use to gauge your life with? How do you really measure your uprightness against? Is it others around you or is it Jesus?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2006 3:58 pm

    I was thinking about this on my drive this morning. I’m not going to worry about other people anymore. If they think I’ve gone out on a limb or if they think I’m way too conservative. If they think I should be in the building everytime it’s open or if they think I’m stupid to be there. I’m going to get to know my God and my saviour better and then try to be a person they can be proud of.

    So there!

  2. June 29, 2006 4:40 pm

    I knew what your picture was. I’ve seen and we’ve used plumb bobs many times over in the past and I’ve even seen some very old ones, such as you picture here.

    This is an interesting post to me for several reasons. Mainly at the moment because I’ve spent a lot of time the past several days contemplating some of those very same questions you throw out to conclude your post. I also spent several hours last night talking with my son Mark about some of those questions and this morning started working on a series of three posts I’m going to publish sometime in the next few days in which I throw out very similar, if not identical in some respects, to your questions. So, you’ll have to stay tuned for those (I’ve titled the “The Slide is Set” parts 1,2 & 3).

    Brilliant minds run in the same channel, they say, right, Tommy?!

    For those reasons, I’m going to pass for the moment on trying to answer your first two questions because I’m still thinking about them and trying to answer them myself for my blog series.

    As for the last question – unlike through a good many of my younger years in this world when I was very concerned about measuring myself to others in many different respects, I now have come to a place where I do that much less, although I think we all do that to some extent or another.

    And I don’t think that it is all bad to measure ourselves to others. It has it’s practical and positive applications. I think it does, anyway, don’t you? Or do you?

    I hope you have more to say on this subject because it raises very important points. Besides – I suppose I’m trying to “pick your brain” here so I can add your thoughts and response to my own thinking about them in working on my series!

    Cheers! Dee

  3. June 30, 2006 12:37 pm

    That’s a hard one – I’d like to say Jesus, but I’m actually measuring myself upon a view of Jesus that I’ve been brought up with. I’m looking to find the REAL Jesus, but then I only have myself to use as a guide to find Him & then THAT’S not good either! So…I use the Bible as much as possible & if someone’s opinion differs from my understanding of the scripture, then I’ll take another look to see who’s closer to the truth. And close is all I’m gonna get, cuz no one has it “right”.

  4. June 30, 2006 1:49 pm

    Kinda sorta in the same vein as beaner’s response, but my first reaction is to be the good Bible class student and say “The BIBLE.” Because that’s the right answer you know… I thought that was the *only* way to know Jesus, so it’s the ultimate standard. I still agree to an extent, though now I see Jesus in a much larger realm of spiritual life. He’s as alive in the people who make up my community of faith as much as He is my intimate friend.

    For me, there’s really no accurate measure… I mean, how do you rate your relationship with God on a scale of 1 to 10? There’s no rating. I ALWAYS fall short.

    So forget justification by comparing myself to others… The best way to use people as a measure is to hang around those who spur you on to be better! Because knowing Jesus has shown me who I already am… and who I’m not. Without him I am nothing.

  5. June 30, 2006 10:34 pm

    Is “plumb bob” related to “Sponge Bob?”

  6. July 1, 2006 11:08 am

    I have always been challenged by the Jesus I see in others. Those flesh and blood principles are great examples to me.

  7. July 1, 2006 12:23 pm

    If what Beaner says is true, can anyone truly follow Jesus? If individuals see different aspects of Jesus in the Bible and so many denominations differ in the way they interpret Christianity, can there really be a right way to be a Christian? Are there some fundamental principles that supposedly define a Christian? If so, who decides what they are?

    It seems to me that the Christianity of the past that people had such confidence in no longer exists. The REAL Jesus is instead a myth who we thought could be found in scripture. Instead of God revealing him to us through scripture, WE have created him.

    Brent

  8. July 1, 2006 8:13 pm

    I gauge my life with against how close I feel to God. I am never going to be upright…..and I shouldn’t be …God wants me to be humble. I think I FINALLY only measure myself against Jesus. I come up way short, but I realize that the others I might have measured myself against in the past come “way short” too!

    I’m with David on Sponge Bob…him I know….

  9. July 3, 2006 10:09 pm

    I think even I could beat Spongebob in a spirituality contest.

    🙂

    Maybe.

Leave a Reply

