Skip to content

What Will We Eat in Heaven?

July 18, 2006

This is the question that I posed to one of the classes I taught at camp this past week. I will give you the short version.

So, do you ever think about what Heaven will be like? Or is it just an escape from Hell? Some people have this image that we will sing forever and ever. Not sure where we got that. I have an idea that it came from the creatures in Heaven that sing of God’s holyness 24/7.

But what will we eat?

I propose that we will eat cafeteria style, no one has to be a waiter in Heaven. I also propose that we will eat (this is the meats):
1. Barbeque
2. Quail
3. Fish

We will eat Barbeque because I think I could eat GOOD Barbeque daily, but mainly because those good jewish folks that were deprived of pork while in this life deserve the chance to enjoy such good food.

Why Quail? Well when the wanderers grew tired of the “what is it” they asked for meat and God sent Quail. So I figure that God must think that Quail is pretty good stuff. He always gives the best you know. And again, I like quail.

Fish. There are a number of interesting stories about Jesus in his resurected state. It seems to me that he somehow looked different. If you read the account at the end of John, they dared not ask him who he was, and he cooks some fish for breakfast. I figure if Jesus choses to cook fish then that would be some GOOD fish. And notice he eats. So, I am assuming if he does, we do.

To the early church this number of fish was significant, it represented all the known nations of the world. It was a reminder or a sign that they were to go into all the nations, all enthnos, all types of people and bring the good news.

We will pick up there next time.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2006 12:03 pm

    This is pretty interesting. However, after Jesus was resurrected, He came back to the “old” Earth & so to the “old” order of things. I wonder what the “new heaven & new Earth” will be like. I say all this because I DO NOT enjoy eating – I eat because I’ll die if I don’t. Most times it’s a bother, although there are a few foods that I really enjoy. And I hate fish – I don’t think eating fish would be ‘heaven’ to me. Do you think we change our tastes in heaven?

  2. July 18, 2006 12:13 pm

    I don’t know, but love the Little Dooey. There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home!

  3. July 18, 2006 12:18 pm

    I was kinda hoping for strawberry milkshakes… I don’t really care I just want to hurry and get there! I’m more concerned with what my job will be.

  4. July 18, 2006 12:23 pm

    TCS, the recesses of your mind contain such interesting things! Some of it is scary, but mostly interesting!

    Wow… I’m the polar opposite of Beaner. Love to eat. I’m really good at it!

    Nice pic of Dooey! 🙂

  5. July 18, 2006 2:51 pm

    Beaner, I am getting to the new and old, so hang on. good thinking though.

    Amy, Not that the Wall Street Journal is known source for rating resturants but the Dooey made the top 10 in the Nation.

    TL, I said this was the meat, there surely will be milkshakes.

    Ang, you think its scary… you should live with it.

  6. July 18, 2006 3:34 pm

    and the milkshakes will be chocolate….at least mine and Amy’s will be!

  7. July 18, 2006 7:30 pm

    What if my job is making the milkshakes?

  8. July 18, 2006 11:49 pm

    I wonder if there will be Blue Bell ice cream in Heaven?

  9. July 19, 2006 9:13 am

    I don’t worry about what I will have to eat in heaven, we may not eat anything that is why I stay caught up on my eating while I am here.

  10. July 19, 2006 11:17 am

    Donna,
    I guess you can have a coco bean shake.
    Terri, I had you making cookies.
    David, You Texas folks sure love the Blue Bell.
    Laymond, Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I will have do some reading at your place, and eat up.

  11. July 19, 2006 7:54 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  12. Anonymous permalink
    August 10, 2006 8:53 pm

    This site is one of the best I have ever seen, wish I had one like this.
    »

  13. September 7, 2008 5:57 am

    1co 6:13 Meats for the belly, and the belly for meats: but God will destroy both it and them. Now the body is not for lewdness, but for the Lord; and the Lord for the body.

  14. September 8, 2008 3:08 pm

    Steve so glad you stopped by and felt the need to proof text a scripture at me. If you read the next post you would see that the food discussion is just to set up the idea of a banquet. If you have a problem with that (us at a banquet in Heaven with a bunch of food and wine that we by your understanding can’t partake of) then take that up with Jesus.

  15. Aleks permalink
    February 28, 2009 12:50 am

    I don’t think there will be any eating in heaven. “for the kingdom of God is not eating and drinking, but righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. (Romans 14:17)”

    IF there is food in heaven though there definitely wont be any meats or barbecue’s because that requires killing and there surely won’t be any of that in heaven. Animals were only permitted to be eaten after the Flood.

  16. May 16, 2009 6:36 pm

    “Why Quail? Well when the wanderers grew tired of the “what is it” they asked for meat and God sent Quail. So I figure that God must think that Quail is pretty good stuff. He always gives the best you know. And again, I like quail. ”

    What kind of bible reading christian are you?

    Numbers 11: 31 Now a wind went out from the LORD and drove quail in from the sea. It brought them [c] down all around the camp to about three feet [d] above the ground, as far as a day’s walk in any direction. 32 All that day and night and all the next day the people went out and gathered quail. No one gathered less than ten homers. [e] Then they spread them out all around the camp. 33 But while the meat was still between their teeth and before it could be consumed, the anger of the LORD burned against the people, and he struck them with a severe plague. 34 Therefore the place was named Kibroth Hattaavah, [f] because there they buried the people who had craved other food.

  17. May 18, 2009 12:27 pm

    A Psalm 105 reading Christian.

    32 He turned their rain into hail, with lightning throughout their land; 33 he struck down their vines and fig trees and shattered the trees of their country. 34 He spoke, and the locusts came, grasshoppers without number; 35 they ate up every green thing in their land, ate up the produce of their soil. 36 Then he struck down all the firstborn in their land, the firstfruits of all their manhood. 37 He brought out Israel, laden with silver and gold, and from among their tribes no one faltered. 38 Egypt was glad when they left, because dread of Israel had fallen on them. 39 He spread out a cloud as a covering, and a fire to give light at night. 40 They asked, and he brought them quail and satisfied them with the bread of heaven.

  18. May 18, 2009 12:30 pm

    and an Exodus 16 reading Christian.

    9 Then Moses told Aaron, “Say to the entire Israelite community, ‘Come before the LORD , for he has heard your grumbling.’ ”
    10 While Aaron was speaking to the whole Israelite community, they looked toward the desert, and there was the glory of the LORD appearing in the cloud.
    11 The LORD said to Moses, 12 “I have heard the grumbling of the Israelites. Tell them, ‘At twilight you will eat meat, and in the morning you will be filled with bread. Then you will know that I am the LORD your God.’ ”
    13 That evening quail came and covered the camp, and in the morning there was a layer of dew around the camp. 14 When the dew was gone, thin flakes like frost on the ground appeared on the desert floor. 15 When the Israelites saw it, they said to each other, “What is it?” For they did not know what it was.

  19. May 18, 2009 12:33 pm

    The point of this post and the next one if you read it is not “really” what we will eat….but how bout this… I will agree not to attack your being a vegetarian and you can not attack my bible knowledge or Christianity. Thanks so much for stopping by and playing along…even if the post is almost 3 years old.

  20. December 29, 2009 7:52 pm

    Fruits will be eaten in heaven though. Isaiah 65 has all the information about how heaven will make us so happy.

  21. Liz Gardner permalink
    June 21, 2010 11:44 pm

    No heaven for animals then. I suppose there will be factory farms etc in heaven as well then. Sounds like its going to be a really great place – just like down here.

  22. WE WILL EAT AND SUP WITH ARE LORD JESUS CHRIST IN HEAVE permalink
    April 20, 2011 6:17 pm

    WE WILL EAT AND SUP WITH GOD IN HEAVEN

  23. Geni permalink
    September 9, 2011 1:47 am

    Maybe you should finish reading the section about the quail. . . As I recall, the people were as you said tired of manna. They were longing for the diet they ate in Egypt. They like Eve were giving in to the sin of appetite. Do you recall what happened to them as they gorged on quail? I take exception to your suggestion that God thought quail to be a superior food!

  24. September 9, 2011 7:03 am

    Geni,
    thanks for the new sin (sin of appetite). Also, I take exception that you are feel the need to correct something meant in jest. Well sort of in jest. I believe things will be set back to as they were in the Garden…but if you would not just read this one post you would see this is just a set up to the next one which is about the idea of a banquet. I do think its funny that you are ok with eating pork!

    learn to relax.

  25. leo\ permalink
    October 15, 2011 8:53 pm

    I wonder if heaven will be what we think. Like one person thinks heaven is where you eat forever, another thinks it’s when you play video games forever.

  26. Leo permalink
    October 15, 2011 8:53 pm

    I wonder if heaven will be what we think. Like one person thinks heaven is where you eat forever, another thinks it’s when you play video games forever. .

  27. Waleed permalink
    March 16, 2012 4:15 pm

    I was kinding Hoping for,Hot wings and pizza.Cause that what keep me full,And it so good.

  28. Waleed permalink
    March 16, 2012 4:17 pm

    But my opion,I think heaven is when your dreams come true.And you pray for the lord everyday I wonder if you well have jobs up there?

  29. Waleed permalink
    March 16, 2012 4:19 pm

    I going to play and eat forever

  30. Gene Ford permalink
    March 23, 2012 11:38 am

    Most all of what we can read about heaven is “figurative”. That said, it needs to be understood that you can not take figurative language and interpret it “literally”.

    It would be like adding meters to yards – they are two sets of measurments and will led to error.

    The first question to ask is “why is it figurative?” Primarily because words are inadequate to clearly describe what heaven is. The most recent writing is just over 1900 years old…think of all the words since then that if known could have been used!

    After Jesus rose from the dead he was on earth in his resurrected body, a body that was physical in sight and touch. But it was also a body capable of materializing or demensional travel in where the body could just appear – materialize from out of no where, best word I have to describe it is: He appeared ‘telekinetically’.

    This is an example of the supernatural ability of his body…”supernatural” abilities are yet (in the 21st century) to be specifically defined in absolute terms thus the name supernatural.

    Consider this: How does this supernatural body eat? We know that it did! Was it necessary…in John 21 Jesus calls to his disciples to ‘come and dine’.

    Perhaps Jesus was referring to their need to eat not his but yet we should still conclude that he ate with them, He told that he would at the last supper before he was crucified. (And yes, Jesus rose in victory, ushering in the kingdom of God!, it was then and he has reigned over it since.)

    I would surmize that in heaven what actually happens is: Because the main focus is on abiding within the will of God…only God’s will abides in heaven…whether we are male or female whether we can eat or have no need to eat, whether we sleep, have bowel movements or sex encounters ALL are reliant upon there necessity in doing God’s will.

    In heaven the elders, angels, cherubs all worship God constantly. We know that in some way we are part of this worship as well as the reigning under the authority of King Jesus – ruler of all eternity! That much we know, beyond that is speculation.

    If we don’t “need” it – why do it? Finally, understand this, we who go to heaven will do so to “serve” God – I don’t think there will be anyone “serving us” food.

  31. Buddy permalink
    May 6, 2015 2:05 pm

    St Thomas Aquinas says there’s no food or animals in heaven. When I get there, I’m getting my dog and St Thomas Aquinas and we’re going out to eat!

Leave a Reply

