Skip to content

What Will We Eat in Heaven? II

July 19, 2006

In Jewish thought Heaven was not so much a destination as the earth being set straight. That’s why the Pharasees were so adamant to get rid of the sinners. If they would straighten up then the Messiah would come and set things right.

So in Revelation when Heaven Crashes into earth its a picture of things being set straight. Of God’s will happening on earth. The kingdom come.

The garden was the perfect place for man. An environment taylor made. So there is the school of thought that Heaven will be just that.

Jesus, Peter and Paul call it the restoration, redemption and renewal of all things. Jesus said he came to seek and save…. (not the lost) …WHAT was lost.

Jesus uses several Banquet stories to describe the Kingdom. In those stories we see that all types of people will be present. It is a inclusive party not exclusive.

The master intends for it to be full.

It will be full.

It will include those who you or I wouldn’t expect. It will not include some you would expect.

In the parable of the vineyard workers (go read it) we see jealousy, pride, rudeness all in this passage. It is another picture of those getting rewarded that some think should not be rewarded. And the picture is of God turning to you and saying, “

‘Friend, I am not being unfair to you. Didn’t you agree to work for a denarius? 14 Take your pay and go. I want to give the man who was hired last the same as I gave you. 15 Don’t I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?'” Not a place I want to be.

So If you find yourself at the great banquet and you are surrounded by a group of people or are sitting by a particular person will it cease to be “heaven” for you? Would you have regrets? Would you have been predudice against anyone or any group? Would finding yourself surrounded by these people cause you to be uncomfortable?

If so we need to work on our Love. Love is not Proud, it is not rude, it is not Jealous. It does not boast.

What about a particular group that holds a doctrine that you believe to be wrong… maybe it is wrong…. if they are there and you are seated in their midst, would you be uncomfortable? Would you have regrets? Would it cease to be “heaven” for you?

Pass the barbecue Brother.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2006 6:47 pm

    I done ready said… if there are milkshakes… I’m cool!

    I think of the office nemesis and how I’ll feel if she is my dinner partner. I think I’ll just suck it up and laugh with her and enjoy God.

  2. July 19, 2006 7:51 pm

    I think the parable of the vineyard workers describes a lot of us….we hate to feel that others get easily what we have worked so hard to obtain.

    But when it comes down to it, I will be happy to share my barbeque with any and all…as long as I am part of the banquet!!

  3. July 19, 2006 9:48 pm

    I was told tonight that God is definetly into Grilled Meat. Think sacrifice/ alter… its a giant grill. That’s from a good freind who is too cool to let anyone know he reads a blog.

  4. July 20, 2006 3:10 pm

    From the original question of what will we eat in Heaven and the banquet text, sounds like it might be “Crow” on the menu.

  5. July 20, 2006 8:14 pm

    TCS, so your friend is too cool to comment too? C’mon, friend, don’t withhold blessings from us! You know you want to join the fun! 🙂

    Lee, that was good. Really good!

    Y’all is some smart people!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    August 12, 2006 2:59 pm

    Your website has a useful information for beginners like me.
    »

  7. Anonymous permalink
    August 17, 2006 6:48 pm

    Very pretty design! Keep up the good work. Thanks.
    »

Leave a Reply

