Skip to content

A/C

July 24, 2006

I am home sitting with a sick 10 year old while Kim takes another one to the doctor for a visit to guess at why his stomache hurts.

I spent the weekend going up and down the steps into our attic. Our air conditioner decided that it no longer wanted to send the water gathered from condensate to the out side. It seems that the boys room ceiling was too dry and needed some watering. So until it can be replaced I get to take a 5 gallon bucket up the steps and empty a cat litter box at a time into it. Trying not to spill any more water as I negotiate it around pipes and braces and out from under the unit itself. So all in all what else could one want from a weekend.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2006 2:03 pm

    Sorry to hear about your AC woes! Seems like there should be some way you could use gravity to solve that problem. (-:

  2. July 24, 2006 4:59 pm

    I identify. Believe me, I identify.

    And Lee – gravity solves the problems all right. All the water flows downward to the lowest point in the house!

    We spent late Saturday night mopping up water with rolls and rolls of paper towels, rheams of towels and other soakable substances from the sopping wet carpet and padding here under the computer and in the store room in my mom’s garage from the overflowing drain pipe connected to the A/C.

    There were a couple of emergency calls to the local A/c repairman ($112.50 just to answer the call on a Saturday night) and a late night visit to unclog the drain pipe before we could go to bed.

    I went to bed about midnight and my mom obsessively stayed up until after 1 a.m. and then got up again the next time the A/C unit started.

    Then, while she was trying to wash towels in the laundry room following the A/C mop up, the washing machine backed up into the laundry room utility sink. What are the odds?

    She called the A/C guy back, who assured her the plumbing problem had nothing to do with him blowing the drain pipe out (you think?), so that necessitated a call to a plumber.

    They finally showed up this afternoon and unclogged the washing machine/utility sink pipes so maybe – you suppose? – maybe we’re back in business here.

    It could have been worse I suppose, but lack of sleep tells me otherwise. What do YOU think, Tommy?

    So – how are the boys doing now? Better I hope.

    Hang in there. It’ll get better. With some money and expert help!

  3. July 24, 2006 11:46 pm

    Speaking as a woman, Gravity is our enemy.

    Can I get an amen?

  4. July 25, 2006 12:56 pm

    We should give thanks for all the experince we have gained.
    anyhow that is what I have been told.

  5. July 25, 2006 2:45 pm

    Nancy, I have also heard that Distance is a woman’s best friend. But I have no idea what that means.

  6. July 25, 2006 8:56 pm

    Tommy –

    THAT means (distance) that the further you are from a woman, the easier it is to be her best friend from your perspective and for her the easier it is to have friends and to look really terrific as well.

    I mean – if you stand far enough back and look at me with your eyes all squinted nearly shut, I still look like I did in my late 20s and early 30s. I look pretty good. Or from across a room that is half dark with all the lights turned down low.

    Yep – distance is a good friend of mine! That applies to online, as well! Y’all didn’t know I’m really 105 years old, did ya’ now?

  7. July 26, 2006 8:14 am

    Tommy, hope the boys are feeling better!
    It’s funny, in a way, to listen to all of the AC problems. It stays so cold here in the Monterey Bay that none of our houses even have air conditioning!
    Hope it all gets fixed soon.

    Christi

  8. Anonymous permalink
    August 12, 2006 7:03 pm

    Greets to the webmaster of this wonderful site! Keep up the good work. Thanks.
    »

  9. Anonymous permalink
    August 17, 2006 10:27 pm

    Greets to the webmaster of this wonderful site! Keep up the good work. Thanks.
    »

Leave a Reply

