Skip to content

Come out, Come out, Wherever you are!

July 28, 2006

Do you remember the call to “come out, come out, wherever you are”. It was the signal to leave your hiding place and rejoin the others when playing hide and seek. We often spend too much time in hiding. Either because of fear or because we think we have nothing to offer.

One of my favorite artists is Sara Groves she wrote this beautiful paragraph.

God has invited us, as mere human beings, to add to the beauty of his plan and creation. Unbelievable. The Kingdom of God transcends politics and policy, nationality, gender and race. It transcends the way we do church, and makes us a real live body of believers. It gives us the ability to be very different and still bear with one another. It gives us the power to extend the same kind of grace that has been extended to us, and to love each other with a love that never fails. The very real kingdom of God calls out of us, it’’s inhabitants, beautiful art, creative lives, and redemptive work.

The Kingdom call out of us and it also calls out to us to come out, come out, wherever you are. Don’t hide your light.
Don’t not speak up for the truth that you know to be truth, not even just to get along.
Don’t be deceived into thinking that you have nothing to offer. That no one will listen.
Don’t think you have no glory.
Philippianss 2 calls us to SHINE like stars in the universe.

The thought of me being called out of hiding is unnerving. I don’t think I want to be seen. Many years ago, during my life in the theater, I received a standing ovation for a performance. The audience was literally on its feet, cheering. What actor doesn’’t crave a standing ovation? So you know what I did? I ran. Literally. As soon as the curtain went down I bolted for the door, so I wouldn’’t have to talk to anyone. I didn’’t want to be seen. I know, it’’s weird, but I’’ll bet you feel the same about being unveiled.

You probably can’’t imagine there being a glory to your life, let alone one that the Enemy fears. But remember-—things are not what they seem. We are not what we seem. You probably believed that your heart was bad too. I pray that fog of poison gas from the pit of hell is fading away in the wind of God’’s truth. And there is more. Not only does Christ say to you that your heart is good, he invites you now out of the shadows to unveil your glory. You have a role you never dreamed of having.

There’’s the beautiful scene toward the end of Joseph’’s life where he, too, is unveiled. The very brothers who sold him into slavery as a boy are standing before what they believe is an angry Egyptian lord, equal in power to Pharaoh himself, their knees knocking. The silver cup of this dreaded lord was found stashed away in their luggage as they headed out of town—placed there by Joseph himself as a ruse. Now Joseph interrogates them till they squirm, deepening the plot by using an interpreter as if he doesn’’t understand Hebrew, pressing them hard. Finally, unable to hold back his tears, he reveals himself: ““I am Joseph; does my father still live? . . . So you shall tell my father of all my glory in Egypt . . . and you shall hurry and bring my father down here”” (Gen. 45:3, 13 NKJV). This is who I really am! Tell him about my glory! Amazing.

(Waking the Dead , 72-–73)

So are you hiding? If so what are you hiding from. Are you hiding your true self?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2006 5:16 pm

    Yes.

  2. July 28, 2006 9:12 pm

    yes, don’t know..of course

  3. July 30, 2006 4:58 pm

    I can’t tell you or I wouldn’t be hiding anymore.

    …don’t you just love the Peanut Gallery who reads your blog?

  4. July 31, 2006 8:19 am

    Great comments! “Ready or not, here I come!”

  5. August 1, 2006 11:02 am

    We all, every one of us, have talents and abilities and I think we should spend our entire lives seeking them out in ourselves and cultivating them. There is no room for hiding with God. If we have a problem with that, we need to keep reading and re-reading Jesus’ parables of the talents, such as in Matt. 25, where the man with only one talent buried it until the master returned from afar.

    I try really hard, even when stuck here at home alone, which is how I’ve spent the most of my time the past year and a half, to figure out things to do and ways I can serve like Peter says:

    “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.”

    1 Peter 4:10-11
    The New International Version

    I know I’m a day late and dollar short on this post, but have been thinking about it and wanted to add my two cents worth.

Leave a Reply

