Skip to content

advice?

July 31, 2006

what’s the best advice you have ever received?
Given the length of the responses from Friday’s post, I expect to leave today much wiser.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2006 7:01 pm

    1.To insist on working on full commission when I started in the mortgage business.

    2.Think outside the box….or maybe I was just born that way…

  2. July 31, 2006 7:19 pm

    Best advice I’ve ever been given?

    Rule No. 1: Lie and Deny.

    Rule No. 2: Never put anything in writing.

    (Circa 1979, per Tom Andrews)

    ******************

    Okay, folks – just kidding here!! (Although I can’t speak for Tom, but I’ve never caught him lying to me yet and it’s been 28+ years now and I’m a pretty intense interrogator!)

    Actually – as to Rule No. 1 – the New Testament tells us to “speak the truth in love” and I interpret that to mean “You shouldn’t – mustn’t – tell everything you know just because you know it or ever, EVER say anything hurtful to anyone, but rather keep the “truth” to yourself (in most instances, unless it will be ultimately beneficial to the other person, not you) and hold your tongue. There is a whole lot more I could say on this point and think it is a vital one (imho) in our lives, but won’t here and now.

    As for Rule No. 2 – it is also a very valid and vital concept to keep in mind, even in (maybe I should say ESPECIALLY in) blogging. But it holds true in life as well in that we should carefully weigh our words before we speak and especially before we write them down for posterity.

    If, however, the words are good and loving and uplifting, by all means write them down and write them often, especially to those you love the most. We never know when we, or they, might be taken from among us and we MUST let them know how much we love them and cherish them and appreciate them.

    Those are my thoughts on this excellent (as always, Tommy) post for today. And while I wrote some words in jest, I will say in utmost seriousness here and now that every single piece of advice Tom Andrews has ever given me has been the best I’ve ever gotten. But, sorry y’all – he’s taken! (But I do loan him out for counselations for a fee!)

    Cheers! Dee

  3. July 31, 2006 7:37 pm

    Don’t let others’ lack of planning become my emergency.

  4. July 31, 2006 8:33 pm

    Make that “consultations,” not “counselations” or whatever I said above. It’s been a long day, what can I say?

  5. August 1, 2006 8:10 am

    Set an early bedtime for your kids. (My kids used to go to bed every night at 7. Now that they’re 7 & 5 yrs. old, we let them stay up until 8.) This way Dwight & I have some time alone together every night before we go to bed.

  6. August 1, 2006 6:07 pm

    When in doubt – don’t.

  7. August 2, 2006 4:45 pm

    You cannot give away what you do not have.

  8. August 2, 2006 11:31 pm

    A professor told David when he got into Harvard, “Remember that everything gets ordinary.”

    (okay, so I wasn’t givent he advice directly, but David told me about it.)

    For some reason, this is a liberating idea, that even the most exciting things become normal at some point… It’s just life — at Harvard, in rural Tennessee, or in the White House. You’ll have good days and bad days, and the ordinary routine of life can be a comfort.

Leave a Reply

