Skip to content

Plan of Salvation…On Sale!

July 31, 2006


Get’em before their all gone!

That’s right hurry on down to your local Bible Book Store and pick up a dozen of these. Really. Its real. Kim pointed them out to me last night in a sale catalog.

I love that it says, “Do you want to go to Heaven? see other side”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2006 4:29 pm

    I don’t know, Tommy. Based on side 1, it might have something to it. Depends on the fine print on side 2, I suppose. So I’ll have to withhold judgment for the moment and/or until I can get a free sample from the seller to more closely peruse the full contents therein.

    Also – it’s hard to tell from the picture, but is that an unfurling “flag” from the side of the pen, perhaps? Novel idea whether it is or isn’t. Maybe someone could design one that way, if it’s not.

    I mean, it seems to me that if you have the “plan” (by the way, where exactly in the Bible are we told there’s a “plan” of salvation? Do you have the specific citation there available? What – did not the catalog and/or seller include book, chaper and verse for the “plan of salvation” it so painstakingly sets out?) written out in full only on the flag part, people who just picked up the pen alone might be left hanging for the rest of their lives without answers.

    The pen just says “Plan of Salvation” and then “Do you want to go to heaven?” without giving you the “plan” right then and there. There’s not even a word on the pen, as far as I can see in the picture, about Jesus or God, either, for that matter.

    Do you suppose the lengthy plan could be shortened up enough to fit on a bumper sticker? Those seem to still be very popular among many, including many religious folks, judging by their stickers, although I’ve never had one on my bumper.

    Maybe we could substitute the word “Jesus” for “plan of salvation.” Or is that too radical an idea, do you think?

    I don’t know. Plus I’m not sure where you would hand those flags and pens out. I can’t really think of any settings in which I would feel right in doing so. They might be conversation starters for the more inhibited among us Christians, but I’ve always found just bringing up God and/or Jesus and/or prayer and/or – well – a myriad of things in a “natural” sort of way apropos to the conversation at hand worked well. I never thought of sticking a pen and “plan of salvation” flag into someone’s hand. For one thing, I’m not sure I could adequately explain what that “plan” was or where I got that concept from or why I felt it necessary to let a pen do the talking for me in asking them if they want to go to heaven. Somehow, that doesn’t sound like a very personal thing to do.

    But then, “plans” most often aren’t.

  2. August 1, 2006 4:34 pm

    Yes, Dee, the “flag” pulls out and goes back into the pen. Must not be too big a seller. It is on sale. Which I just realized would have been a much better title. “Plan of Salvation…On Sale”. You know, like get it before its gone!

  3. August 1, 2006 11:23 pm

    cool….you find the weirdest stuff…

  4. August 2, 2006 5:44 pm

    What? No five finger exercise on this thing!!!

  5. August 3, 2006 10:55 am

    A little pricie for a pen with a flag. The whole concept causes me to ask, has “gimic evangelism” ever worked to change a heart?

  6. August 4, 2006 4:15 pm

    I was just noticing that it had 7 steps, not 5…

Leave a Reply

