Skip to content

I just showed up for my own life

August 17, 2006


I’ve mentioned Sara Groves’ music before. Well she called the house last night to talk! But that’s farther into the story.

A couple of weeks ago I was checking Saragroves.com to see if there were any new concerts listed and noticed that the site was redesigned and that there was this Nomad Video. I clicked on the link and watched the trailer and then ordered the video.

we had already received the video and I don’t remember where, but I signed up to help promote Sara’s music by being on a “street team”. I got an email from INO that they had already sent out the packets but I could play along if I wanted to. They sent me a package of posters and a copy of “Add to the Beauty” which was album of the year by CCM Magazine to give away.

I showed the trailer and a vinette to our small group last week. And Tonight we and some other guests watched the video. Its about following Sara and her Husband Troy around as they “add to the beauty” or advance the kingdom. They go on a trip to Rowanda and also on mission to take baby supplies to Katrina victims right after the storm.

Several things stick out in the film to me. Sara breaking up and saying that she thought this baby supply thing was a silly idea, but now realizing its not. Its a moment of just running toward an idea that God planted in her heart and trusting. The silly idea thought (wonder who that was from).

Things that stick out about Sara herself… She has always been at a similar place in life with us. Her music has ministered to us for years. She has always been available after her concerts, she has an incredible gift for putting into words what is on her heart and she is very real, genuine, sincere. That shows not only in music and concerts but also in this video.

Well we were watching it and it was almost over and my cell phone was ringing. It is surprising but I answered it. It was Troy Groves, we talked for a minute, I said something profound and sure to endear him to me like “Oh your on my TV right now” and he said he would have Sara call back in about 10 minutes when we have finished the video. We finished the video and said a prayer, gave away a CD and then I told everyone to stick around and Sara Groves would call in a few minutes. (This receives looks of surprise and “have you been smoking something”.

Troy called back and then Sara talked to us all while we were on speakerphone (glad we had one). Its late and I don’t recall all she said, but we got to ask questions, our guests asked most of them (isn’t that normal, new people haven’t learned from us not to talk ;-)) Maybe we we star struck. But it was strange yet relaxed talking to them and hearing how this has been a year of great growth in their lives. How they are changing the way they are raising their kids.

As stupid as it sounds to talk about someone who is good with words, but all I can think is that it was “really great” to get that surprise. I ate breakfast once with Wink Martindale, but this was much better.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2006 8:01 am

    I love Sara Groves too – and it’s only from the 1 CD of hers that I have (Conversations)

    I think I’d be star struck too! Lucky! (Said in my best Napoleon voice)

  2. August 18, 2006 8:49 am

    Beaner, I think you would really like Add to the Beauty. and The other side of Something… which is about …well coming out of a difficult time. Next I plan to get my own Ligor (Said in my best Napoleon voice).

  3. August 18, 2006 9:37 am

    Wink Martindale, hunh?

    Who would have thought?!

    You sent me some of Sarah Groves music, Tommy, which I have really appreciated.

    This is a neat story and I’m glad she and her husband took the time and the interest to call y’all! What fun!

    What can I say but that that’s “really great”!?!

  4. August 18, 2006 11:36 am

    A Sara Groves fan here too. Angie got me hooked. How neat to get to talk to her!

  5. August 18, 2006 2:37 pm

    Boy did I miss out! Sure wish I could’ve joined you guys… I’m so thankful for what Sara has done with her life. Personally, her music has meant a lot to me. And in the big picture, I think she really uses her platform well.

    Sounds like God arranged a beautiful and mutually encouraging night!

    And we get to see Caedmon’s Call this weekend! Yea! See you tomorrow, friend!

  6. August 21, 2006 6:33 pm

    I love that quote, “Its a moment of just running toward an idea that God planted in her heart and trusting.” Wow!

  7. August 21, 2006 10:02 pm

    You should her her put it into words.

Leave a Reply

