Skip to content

weekend wrap up

August 21, 2006

There were other pictures from the bike rally but… well lets just say there were some interesting specimens there. And LOTS of bikes. It seems if you are an “individualist” and you want to have a motorcycle a black Harley is the bike of choice..after all your an individualist and want to be different, and if your an old woman you want to be different so you wear a red hat like all the other old women who want to be different. Its just funny to me. By the way my bike is red.

I DID ride in the “dinner ride” Friday night. Wow. I was at the tail end and at no point could I see the front of the train. I’m talking thousands and thousands of bikes double file. It was fun. Lots of people along the road waving.

Saturday we went to see Caedmon’s Call. We and all of 5 other people went to meet them at a “meet and greet” I have a photo, but its on the camera at home. The concert was really good. Eli got a set sheet (list of the songs they were going to play) autographed afterwards. He said it was his best concert yet (only been to 3) because he “got the most stuff at this one”. Our group went to eat afterwards and had a great time.

Maybe I will get back to something meaningful someday.

My father is in the hospital with Pancreatitis (we think) should know today. Words fail to describe what he’s like in the hospital. My oldest sister wrote a few years ago,

Summer turns surreal, a phone call from my sister announcing that my dad is headed by ambulance for Jackson. Another summer, another emergency hospital stay. Multiple blockages in the small intestine this time. He’s neither as critically ill nor as abusive this year, but I have to admit that I can’t shake the emotional imprints of other times. I can hardly bear to stay in the room, especially when I’m alone. Once last week, I left for coffee, while he was asleep, and I realized, as I pushed open the door of room 813, that I felt within me my lifetime of doors opening to where my father is: I felt fear. Yet at other times, when his ankles hurt and he wants to sit on the side of the bed, I tell him to lean on my shoulder, I lay my head on top of his, and I am overwhelmed with tenderness for this old man, part hardwood, part fragile child.

My middle sister is there now. She needs prayers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2006 5:03 pm

    THanks for your encouragement1 Your blog rocks!

  2. August 21, 2006 5:26 pm

    I will pray for your sister.

    I can picture as part of a motorcycle gang…..

  3. August 21, 2006 6:31 pm

    I can’t imagine riding with that many bikes around. Pretty awesome.

    I hope your dad gets better fast. Prayers will go up for the whole family.

  4. August 23, 2006 6:38 pm

    That can’t possibly be Sturgis, Mississippi.

Leave a Reply

