Skip to content

How far should Love Go?

August 22, 2006

Update: I go in the morning to relieve my sister from sitting at my father’s side. We thought this morning that he would be going home in a day or two. He had a precedure and we thought he would be getting better soon. I just spoke to her and the GI doc had just left and was asking about DNR orders. She asked if it was that serious and he said at his age it was. The next 24-48 hours will tell. He said he might turn the corner or not. Not what you want to hear, obviously. Apparently his fever has him out of it and he is in pain.

I dread going.

Hopefully I can blog more from there tommorrow. I know to most people this is a weird thing. Most sons would rush to their father’s side. He’s made so many withdrawls from his account in my love bank that its hard. Hard to Love and hard to face that it may never be the relationship I longed for.

I planned to post this earlier, so I post it mostly to myself. It came from a lesson I gave a year or so ago and I used this part as a comment on a friend’s blog.

Pray for my father, and for me to have compassion.

How far should Love Go?
There is an old story about an Irish boxer – to make it short, some kids didn’t know who he was when he was older, and these punks started pushing him around and one hit him on the face and he turned and let them hit him again, then he said, “the lord has given no further instructions.”

Love God style always goes beyond min. daily requirements… it is not contaminated to any degree of self interest…. I have never done that. We were trained from the cradle with Christmas card loving. You know how that works… if you send a card and don’t get one back they are off the list the next year.

We learn love is too expensive to spend on people that don’t appreciate it. Then Jesus comes along and says anybody can do that kind of loving. What do you do when loving costs you your shirt?

What qualifiers do you put on your love? God doesn’t put any. He gives rain to everyone. Jesus says you let your rain and sunshine drench everybody, whether they are grateful for your continued grace or not.

Every day you have to ask, Am I today going to live as a reaction to other people or as a reflection of God?

It is liberating because you don’t have to decide who to love.

Jesus said you are illustrating God when your love is not delinquent in returning good for evil.

But let me ask you this. Has the idea that 2 wrongs make a right.
Has that idea made the world safer?
Has it made your family closer?
Has it made the church more united?
You got to remember YOU deserve retaliation but God offered reconciliation. God’s door mat says “Welcome Enemies”

The single greatest proof that you are god’s man or woman and that you have a new nature and it is that you Love like no other.

1 peter 1: 18It cost God plenty to get you out of that dead-end, empty-headed life you grew up in. 19He paid with Christ’s sacred blood, you know. He died like an unblemished, sacrificial lamb. 20And this was no afterthought. Even though it has only lately–at the end of the ages–become public knowledge, God always knew he was going to do this for you. 21It’s because of this sacrificed Messiah, whom God then raised from the dead and glorified, that you trust God, that you know you have a future in God.
22Now that you’ve cleaned up your lives by following the truth, love one another as if your lives depended on it. 23Your new life is not like your old life. Your old birth came from mortal sperm; your new birth comes from God’s living Word. Just think: a life conceived by God himself! 24That’s why the prophet said,
The old life is a grass life,
its beauty as short-lived as wildflowers;
Grass dries up, flowers droop,
25God’s Word goes on and on forever.
This is the Word that conceived the new life in you.

This is risky stuff we are talking about. To really love people you have to get so close that those people can hurt you if they want to.

You have not failed when you love like no other and it gets rejected.

You fail when the love you offer looks nothing like God.

I am not sure the church wants to hear this because we have a hard time acting like we understand this. The unbelieving world does not see God in our doctrine, They don’t see God in our worship, they don’t see God even in our holiness. They see God in us is when we reflect a love like no other they are used to seeing.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2006 7:23 pm

    That kind of love is not easy. Do all you possibly can now. Don’t look back.

  2. terri permalink
    August 22, 2006 7:29 pm

    I’m sorry

  3. August 22, 2006 9:05 pm

    Tommy –

    I’m just now having time for the first time in the last two days to look at blogs and have come here.

    I will be praying for you, my friend. In all and through all. And for your dad.

    Dee

  4. August 22, 2006 9:12 pm

    Just want ya to know that you are in our thoughts and prayers. At any point tomorrow just remind yourself that you’ve got prayers going up from people all over.

    ~ Christi

  5. August 22, 2006 10:35 pm

    Oh TCS.

    Seize this time – you’ll have plenty of time to deal with your regrets.

    I am so so sorry here with tears in my eyes. “The Lord is close to the broken hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”

    Blessings on you.

  6. August 23, 2006 6:30 am

    I know this is a hard time. My thoughts, my prayers and my love are with you.

    You are so right about that “real love” being hard. Not only against our nature but not really demonstrated to us by our churches. Can we be the start of a revoloution?

  7. August 23, 2006 12:51 pm

    I have not had a lot of time in the bloggin world the last few days, but want you to know that my heart goes out along with my prayers.

    We are never more like our Father than when we show love, when showing love is not the “natural” thing to do.

  8. August 23, 2006 12:51 pm

    I have not had a lot of time in the bloggin world the last few days, but want you to know that my heart goes out along with my prayers.

    We are never more like our Father than when we show love, when showing love is not the “natural” thing to do.

  9. August 23, 2006 10:30 pm

    “This is risky stuff we are talking about. To really love people you have to get so close that those people can hurt you if they want to.

    You have not failed when you love like no other and it gets rejected.

    You fail when the love you offer looks nothing like God.”

    All of this above….helps me SO much….I want to post it on my blog….or maybe I don’t…I don’t want to be prideful in the efforts I’ve gone to, to love….so…maybe I’m just supposed to say thanks for ministering this to me….thanks for commenting on my blog which made me come and read these words on your blog. Isn’t God grand? 🙂

    grace

Leave a Reply

