Skip to content

hanging in there

August 23, 2006

Thank you all for your prayers. It has made a difference.

Sitting here in my father’s room. He haas been asleep most of the time I have been here today.

He woke for a while and was agitated until he was given some pain medicine and then went back to sleep. His main doctor doesn’t seem as concerned as the one last night. His GI conditions seem to be improving, He has fluid on his lungs from the IV’s so now their trying to get rid of that and his heart rate is very high.

He knows that I’m here and when awake keeps telling me to get him down from here (out of bed) At one point of diorentation he said “Don’t let my wife catch me here” Now that was funny if you know his past.

He’s a tough old codger.

This man laying here entered the Marines as soon as he could during World War 2 and was stationed in the south Pacific. If you asked him about it he would tell you one of 3 stories. I’ll share one of them now.

After Basic in San Diego he was transferred to Pearl Harbor. They packed every person and piece of equipment they could on a brand new air craft carrier (The Hornet, I think) and he had to sleep on the deck. From Pearl his company was on its way to some island in a convoy of ships. His ship was actually a merchant marine ship and several days out from Pearl they heard a loud boom and the entire ship shuttered. The captain sounded abandon ship and they were about to bail as they were sure they had been hit by a torpedo. The captain stopped them all. The ship had thrown a prop and was dead in the water. Being a merchant marine ship the U.S. Navy ships would not tow it. They left one destroyer circling this ship as they waited on a tow to come from Pearl. It took weeks. He was told at one point near the end of the world that he had more time on a ship than many men in the Navy.


I used to think he had never seen any “real” action. A foolish thought. When the twin towers were attacked, we talked that day. He told me in a moment of honesty that seeing those people jumping to their death on fire rekindled in him the “awful memory of humans burning”.

More later. time for the shift change.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2006 6:40 pm

    Wow, what a story. I’m joining in the prayers a little late. I hope you have a good visit with your dad and that he gains strength.

  2. August 23, 2006 6:42 pm

    My Granddaddy (Mother’s daddy) never spoke about Pearl Harbor until I visited Hawaii. He always wanted to go back. I think those men saw more than they should’ve seen. I hope your father comes through everything wonderfully and that y’all can find some peace.

  3. August 23, 2006 6:47 pm

    Praying, praying, praying…

  4. August 23, 2006 6:55 pm

    Wow, I’ve been thinking of you and your Dad all day. Thanks for the update, we’ll keep on praying.
    ~ Christi

  5. August 23, 2006 9:18 pm

    Yes I too thank you for the update…and being the WWII buff that I am I long to hear your other stories.

  6. August 23, 2006 11:10 pm

    Wow! That’s an amazing story. glad you’re there. Prayed for you when you and your suffering popped in my head while making pizza for the kids.

Leave a Reply

