Skip to content

update

August 25, 2006

Well things are about the same today. The GI doc came in last night and stirred my sister up. He said everything had cleared up but he was worried he was not getting enough fluids and aked again about DNR orders.

Another new doctor today for his lungs. He’s treatening moving to ICU but not for now.

The ugly story. Well there are a couple of those actually. The main one is that when I was about 2 my dad took me to the doctor. This is strange itself. While we were waiting in the waiting room, in walks a lady (sorry I was taught that term). I started saying out loud, “Daddy, look at that UGLY lady.” He tried to ignore me. So I got louder, “Daddy, look at that UGLY lady!” he tried to shush me. Apparently she was like a freak show to my two year old self and I started yelling and had crawled up in his lap and took both hands and was trying to turn his head and yelling, “Daddy, you’ve Got to look at this Ugly Woman!” He says I was bad about stuff like that. Now I or someone in the room asks, “was she ugly?” and he says, “Whew, yeah, she was sure enough ugly!”

See in trouble for speaking my mind at two.

There’s another one where I told a man his wife, “sure is ugly”.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2006 6:16 pm

    Well, if you were only TWO, Tommy, she MUST have been ugly, even if it wasn’t her own fault. Your dad should have appreciated your honesty, to put it in the best light.

    Although, you guys pick up on things like that starting at a very young age, I’ll have to say!

    Typical male, you are, sounds like to me. But, what else would we expect?!

    Praying for you and your dad, Tommy. For your whole family.

    I was talking about you this afternoon, you know, now that I think about it and it had to do with UGLY!! How funny that I’m just remembering it.

    I was in the local wholesale plumbing fixtures/sinks/tubs/appliances store and telling the young man in there (when we were talking about prices and being “frugal”) about what you said about “Ugly is cheap” when it comes to . . . (and I won’t repeat the rest of your delightful comment that nearly got you in trouble, but that I laughed out loud over!)

    Cheers & Blessings, T! Dee

  2. August 25, 2006 10:47 pm

    Glad things are better….I guess I should keep a distance from you.

  3. August 26, 2006 2:01 pm

    One of my nephews, at about the age of two, upon seeing his first person of color said,”Look mom, a chocolate man.” Childhood innocence–you got to love it.

    Hope you are getting some rest.

  4. August 27, 2006 5:19 pm

    Well you know that now you’ve gotta tell the other story too. That’s gotta be a doozy.

    Hope your dad is improving and that you’re hanging in there!

Leave a Reply

