Skip to content

Monday update

August 28, 2006

Thank you all who have been praying. My Dad’s condition has improved. At one point this weekend, they were threatening moving him to ICU. But he improved by the next day and they have him off pain meds now. He is coming around and talking. He will be moved to a regular room today. They have had him sitting on the side of the bed and probably will move him to a chair today.

So at this point it seems he has dodged another bullet. He had beaten the odds a number of times now.

So hopefully this will be my last old story. I actually think I may have told this one but, haven’t looked to make sure.

Some of my earliest memories involve following around a old black man that worked for us. He was kind of teacher and a friend, he was my buddy. Kind of like Jimmy Carter, all my friends were black until I started school. Of course the kids are church were all white. But none of them were friends. Anyway I would follow my buddy around all day. He was facinating to me. He rolled his own cigarettes. He even managed to get a little work done each day. When we were around the house he would always eat his lunch in the garage. He refused to come in the house. Looking back, maybe he knew something. But he would eat outside and I would sit and watch him eat. He always refered to me by one name, “Chap”. As in come on Chap. Or, What’s you doing Chap? He never seemed to mind my presence.

Well one day I was riding with my Dad, out to our farm or to the lake (not sure) could have been so he could ride around and drink (which he tried to hide for a long time, which is really funny, now that I think about it. Come home drunk every night but hide the actually consumption??) We saw two folks walking down the road and pulled over. My buddy and his “wife” climbed in. Well to be exact he climbed in as I scooted over to the middle and he told her to get in the bed of the truck. I never said he was a gentleman.

(I don’t remember any of this) I wanted to know who this woman was. Why was he walking with her? Where were they going? Lots of questions. “Well Chap, that’s my woman.” and I declared “Well, she sure is Ugly!” and he said, “Don’t I know it, Chap.”

Stop here if you want a happy ending

P.S. He quit working for us and I for a long time would ask about him. The response I would get was he moved. Which just caused more questions. Years later my Dad told me the truth. One morning that ugly woman and him were fighting as she cooked breakfast. They lived in a house straight out of The Color Purple and she picked up the cast iron skillet where the bacon was cooking and poured the hot grease on him. He shot her in the head and was sent to prison for it. He was a old man when I knew him I am sure he died there. That story has never been sad till just now. I guess I have never really thought about how his life ended. Captive.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2006 12:09 pm

    I had only heard the happy ending version of that story before…

    My, my. Sometimes it’s not until we’re adults that we can better grasp the impact of things in our lives… Denial works for quite awhile. Desensitization plays a leading role.

    But the longer I know Jesus, my heart seems to get softer and softer. He opens my eyes to things that maybe I couldn’t handle in earlier years.

    I love the stories you tell. Not for the happy endings… but because they are real. You are real. And they make Jesus even more real to me.

  2. August 28, 2006 5:51 pm

    We are all captive…unless Jesus sets us free. Maybe we just don’t realize it.

  3. August 28, 2006 7:26 pm

    I am with Angie T., I love the stories too. We all have our stories…and I really think they need to be told. They are what makes us…us. Not great English, but you get my drift.

  4. August 28, 2006 8:17 pm

    That IS a very sad story, T.

    The need for God is so REAL in our lives here on earth. So imminenty real.

    God help us all.

    Love you, T. Dee

  5. August 29, 2006 1:47 pm

    I was gonna say what Angie and co. said. Thanks for posting this story.

    I’m glad your dad is improving. And sorry you all are having to go through this difficult time with him.

  6. August 30, 2006 1:03 pm

    What a beautifully told, sad story.

    Glad to hear about your dad’s health.

Leave a Reply

