Skip to content

Too good to be true?

September 13, 2006

And in the perfect time, O perfect God,
When we are in our home, our natal home
When joy shall carry every sacred load,
And from its life and peace no heart shall roam,
What if thou make us able to make like thee—
To light with moons, to clothe with greenery,
To hang gold sunsets o’er a rose and purple sea!
(George MacDonald, Diary of an Old Soul)

Some would say that’s not how its going to be. I wonder if deep down they think God’s not really that good. That he would not allow us such a privlege.

Christ is not joking when he says that we shall inherit the kingdom prepared for us and we shall reign with him forever. Its a position for which we have been uniquely made and will rule as he does- meaning, with power and creativity. Do you think its too good to be true?

On another note, Kim leaves tommorrow for a Captivating retreat in Colorado. We are praying that God will do whatever work he has for her heart while she is there and that she will be open to it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2006 12:29 pm

    I don’t even CARE what other people think it will be like. It will be better than anything I can even imagine… I know that just being in the presence of God in the middle of a field of weeds would be better than anything I can imagine. I can’t wait! Let’s go today!!!

  2. September 13, 2006 5:15 pm

    I hope the retreat will be a great experience for Kim!

  3. September 13, 2006 10:13 pm

    I think it’s going to be way more glorious than all we can think or imagine. I think. And God has given me some pretty glorious thoughts in this world about a lot of things.

    That’s what I think.

    Wish the rest of us “girls” could go with Kim for the weekend. I’d love it! But then, I have great plans for this weekend here, too. We’ll see . . ..

    Behave yourself, Tommy, while Kim’s gone!

  4. September 14, 2006 2:58 pm

    Hey I am counting on it being as the poem portrayed.

    I firmly believe that as heirs of God and joint-heirs with Christ we will literally be astonished at what God has waiting for us.

    Can’t wait!

  5. September 16, 2006 6:13 pm

    We’ll judge angels.

    How will that work, I wonder …?

  6. September 18, 2006 10:58 pm

    I try to tell my kids about Heaven in words they can understand — we talk alot about flying maybe. And chocolate without the threat of cavities.

  7. July 5, 2007 1:39 am

    Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    G’night

Leave a Reply

