Skip to content

He who must not be named

September 19, 2006


In the world of Harry Potter, Voldemort is the evil one whose name strikes such fear that most will not even say his name. In those books we learn that calling something by its name is in fact a good thing.

Satan. There I said it. He exists. I believe that. It seems to me that most Christians, most churches don’t “ever” speak of him. He’s not real, (HOW STRONG IS YOUR DESIRE TO STOP READING RIGHT NOW) not a factor, out of sight and out of mind. It amazing how many people who study a book called the Bible seem to read it from a perspective that spiritual warfare is non existent. It seems to have been stigmatized by a religious spirit so that most don’t practice spiritual warfare as a normal, necessary, daily part of the Christian life.

So, what is your experience (right now your giving me that look, you know the he’s a nut kind of look)? Do you or you Christian friends discuss spiritual warfare? Does your church or any you have ever attended teach others how to break strongholds, or how to set captives free?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2006 3:16 pm

    Yes, I have and do discuss this, but of course I am a preacher. 🙂

    To me the struggle we are in with the principalities and powers “of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms” (Eph. 6:12) is the context in which our life is set.

    Satan is very real and active, but thankfully so is our Sovereign Lord and compared to Him, Satan is just a big loser.

  2. September 19, 2006 5:26 pm

    We talk about it at the office. Cindy thinks that we’re not important enough for Satan to know US (Cindy and Terri) individually but that his demons are everywhere and that they watch to find out weak areas. I’ve never studied it – it scares me.

  3. September 19, 2006 7:16 pm

    Terri just described what Joe Beam says in his book on spriitual warfare. I discuss it with anyone who will discuss it with me. I see how Satan gets in an draws my attention away from my God. We sometimes get into it in ladies class, but it is not a popular topic.

  4. September 19, 2006 8:26 pm

    Satan is non-stop in my life. I FEEL the spiritual warfare, but then again, I have battled with some SERIOUS sin, so it might just make Satan more obvious to me. What scares me now is the subtle ways he’s invading my life.

    Some days I really do say out loud “In the name of Jesus Christ, I denounce you Satan & you are NOT welcome here.” There’s power in using Jesus’ name.

    I believe that Satan likes to lie in wait until we’re tired, hungry, beaten down by life & then he jumps in. I think when the Bible says he’s like a roaring lion, it means that he’s looking for prey – and lions pick on the weak ones!

    Thanks for this post – I could go on & on, but Joe Beam’s book “Seeing the Unseen” does it best!

  5. September 19, 2006 10:33 pm

    Yes I am aware of spiritual warfare, have prayed with others to receive deliverance but find most christians are just not aware that there is a battle and they are part of it.

    I was fortunate to sit under the ministry of Graham Powell who is a world wide teacher in this type of ministry. He has written a few books the first of which was ‘Christian Set Yourself Free’ and I find many christians will not accept that they need to be free of Satan. They are under the misconception that deliverance is for unbelievers only. Why would we sweep the house of an unbeliever clean so that the enemy could bring many more demons back than before in the absence of the Holy Spirit in a persons life.

    The church in the West needs to open its eyes.

  6. September 20, 2006 12:24 pm

    Danny – He is real and active and a loser but not without power.

    Terri – I think your right in that we are wrong to assume Satan himself is at us always. He has much help. He / Angels are not any of the big O words like Omnipresent.

    Donna – I know it is surely not a popular topic – I expected no response.

    Beaner – I think you would enjoy the book Waking the Dead if you haven’t read it.

    Caraboo – welcome. Yes we probably need to wake up to many things.

    All- Does anyone have experience in a church where people were actually taught how to pray about such things, how to break strongholds?

  7. September 20, 2006 4:54 pm

    As usual lately, I’m a day late and dollar short, but here are my thoughts, Tommy. I’ve definitely talked with other Christians in churches about satan (I refuse to capitalize his name) and about praying about his powers and about “how to break strongholds.”

    In fact, I went to see my dear friend, the minister over at Tammany Oaks in Mandeville one afternoon last week to spend a couple of hours talking about these things, and my life and difficulties personally, if you’ll remember my blog post of last week on Monday. I spelled it out and asked for help.

    I received good advice, decided not to let satan get a stranglehold on me and went and talked with Tod about it. This isn’t the first time I’ve ever done so and I will do so again if, or maybe I should say when, I need to. This can be a very tricky thing to do sometimes – to open ourselves up to someone else, especially when we feel, and are, very vulnerable, and I’ve had it backfire on me big time in my life in the past. Even by more than one minister in our “brotherhood,” I’m sad to say a long time ago.

    We must seek our counsel wisely, but I definitely believe we have great power against satan when we do (1) recognize him and his followers for what they truly are, (2) turn and face him in the name of Jesus and ask God to remain present in our life in a very real and immediate way, and (3) renounce and/or denounce satan, asking God to remove his presence from us, to keep satan away from us so as not to harm us and asking God for an extra measure of grace to defend ourselves against satan’s powers.

    I’ve overcome many things this way. I know there is power in numbers and that is one reason I went to talk with Tod and then Tom and another person. For fortification. I felt a great sense of relief in being able to open my heart up to another asking for help in fighting satan and it worked.

    We’ve prayed, we talked about satan’s deceits and specific ways I could – and have – gone about fighting satan’s temptations that I was facing.

    I’m happy to say my problems were resolved for good and that they no longer remain a problem.

    I’ve been in several small groups, too, and small classes in which we discussed these things and talked together. I’ve not in a long time heard anything specifically and solely on the subject of satan in a sermon, I wouldn’t say, but I do know my elders here in Picayune include men I could go to with anything, depending on the situation. I also feel I could go to any of the shepherds back at Tammany Oaks at any time about any satan/sin problem I should experience, as well as Tod and/or several women in the church both here and Tammany Oaks.

    I certainly do not feel alone in this fight, as I once might have a long time ago. There are any number of Christians I could and would and have gone to in my life and would do so again. I have Christian friends outside the cofC I could and have gone to, as well. I think we greatly limit ourselves when we don’t broaden our scope of who is available for us to talk with, including our own dear Christian blogging community (thanks for you comment and link earlier, btw, on blogging and ministry).

    Being a Christian is about being in community, so whether we go to our “church” (who are the “called out” of course) in the place where we live, to members of our “church” family in blogland, to our Christian friends around us or who serve as counselors, attorneys, whoever, we should do so. I think. I think there are numerous places to serve as resources for us. I’ve found so, anyway.

    So . . . what is it you need to see us about to tell us, Tommy??!! Call me. With me there is ALWAYS attorney/client privilege, so my lips are sealed! ha!

    Really – I counseled lots of women while serving as their attorney and made a lot of friends, too. We need to learn not to limit ourselves by our own feelings that we’re the “only one” going through whatever. That is EXACTLY what satan would have us do. Feel all alone.

    Don’t y’all think?

  8. September 20, 2006 6:21 pm

    Long time reader, delurking to comment on this. It happens that I’ve been doing a lot of thinking/reading/praying on this subject.

    I moved to Las Vegas from York, Nebraska about two years ago. This town…appropriately named “sin city”, is full of spiritual warfare. In fact, I’ve never lived in a town where I feel the presence of evil more. What is unfortunate is that the conversations about it don’t happen here. In York, my friends and I discussed our spiritual battles regularly. There was a sense of strength in knowing that others were battling the evil along side you. Here in Vegas, that just doesn’t happen, at least not often, and I’ve received strange looks when I’ve brought up the subject of spritual warfare. Not that people aren’t fighting…I’m sure they are. However, I’ve found there to be a sense of apathy or general “what can we do about it” attitude. I could be all wrong, but it seems to me that satan’s influence is SO strong in this city, and his “black cloud” hangs so heavily over portions of this city, that it makes it difficult to fight. I know there are other cities in America that could be described similarly, but Las Vegas is a city like I’ve never known. The spiritual battles are more intense, and at the same time, more subtle here (because “anything goes”).

    Ok, sorry for hijacking your comments section. Again, it’s a topic I’m thinking on often, so I have much to say, I guess. Thanks for your thoughts, and the chance to comment.

  9. September 20, 2006 10:11 pm

    Char,

    Wow a “delurking”! Honored to have you reading and now commenting. It was by no means a hijack. Comment more often. Other than the guy wants me to check out his fishing site most of the commententers around here are very accepting of everyone…even of me.

    I think that “what can we do about” attitude is very prevelent. I think that is why churches need to teach or learn themselves and then teach others “how” to battle.

  10. April 30, 2011 9:14 am

    “…For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the Devil.”
    1 John 3:8
    Job done! In His name, the name of Jesus, the Devil (Satan) is destroyed.
    Positionally this is true; appropriating it is of course a different matter – or at least that’s what I’ve found! But I’m pressing in to the fullness already mine in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

