Skip to content

Coming up at 10 on the nightly update

October 9, 2006

To Zoe and back.

Lots to tell, I will try to tonight. I’ve got some great quotes from Nancy (whose new book is offically out today (I think)) and from Phil and of course there are stories to tell on the rest of you. I plan on spilling some dirt on Donna, Terri, Paul, Jenni, Angie, Jetty Betty, Happy, Amy and others. There were of course celeb sightings (but I didn’t get around to talking to them…so their safe).

One BIG announcement for us is that after much prayer(really, not just saying that) we are finishing our application with Lifeline tonight and sending it in. That marks the first offical step toward adoption. Many hoops still to jump through but we are confident that God is in control.

I have had several converstations about Worship today and thought I would offer this until I can post later tonight and share some moments from the Zoe Conference.

Henri Nouwen once asked Mother Teresa for spiritual direction. Spend one hour each day in adoration of your Lord, she said, and never do anything you know is wrong. Follow this, and you’ll be fine. Such simple yet profound advice. Worship is the act of the abandoned heart adoring its God. It is the union that we crave. Few of us experience anything like this on a regular basis, let alone for an hour each day. But it is what we need. Desperately. Simply showing up on Sunday is not even close to worship. Neither does singing songs with religious content pass for worship. What counts is the posture of the soul involved, the open heart pouring forth its love toward God and communing with him. It is a question of desire.

Worship occurs when we say to God, from the bottom of our hearts, “You are the One whom I desire.” As Thomas à Kempis prayed, “There is nothing created that can fully satisfy my desires. Make me one with You in a sure bond of heavenly love, for You alone are sufficient to Your lover, and without You all things are vain and of no substance.”

I spent a year in the Psalms at the same time I was resting from the duty of Sunday morning. I wasn’t studying them with my head; I was praying them from my heart. It gave me a voice for the cry of my soul—the anguish, the weariness, the joy, the sorrow. It’s all there. What is remarkable is that no matter where the poet begins, he almost always ends in worship. This is no coincidence. It is where our journey must lead us. In the most often quoted phrase from Augustine, he says, “Our hearts are restless until they find their rest in Thee.” He is referring to desire. Our only hope for rest from the incessant craving of our desire is in God, and us united to him. The full union, of course, is coming. We rehearse for the wedding now through worship.

(The Journey of Desire , 177–78)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2006 3:09 pm

    I wish you had been around to transcribe the rest of the conversation between me and Nancy.

  2. October 9, 2006 3:51 pm

    Congrats on the first step to adoption. I am convinced that no child will find better parents to show them the love of Jesus.

    Watch what you tell…we have blogs too!!

  3. October 9, 2006 5:19 pm

    Hey, Tommy –

    Thanks for the post. I identify with the quote. I’ve spent long hours “with God” the past several years and it’s been good time for me.

    Can’t wait to hear about your weekend with everyone.

    Take care and hope and pray all will go well with the adoption. Let’s talk soon.

    Dee

  4. October 9, 2006 5:36 pm

    Good stuff there. I will pray over your process.

  5. October 9, 2006 10:38 pm

    I really enjoyed getting to know you and Kim this weekend–I am very excited about the adoption!

  6. October 10, 2006 11:32 am

    Yea! Something is finally finalized! Praying that red tape won’t get you down…

    I’m soooo excited for you, Kim & the boys!

Leave a Reply

