Skip to content

Zoe recap and adoption questions

October 9, 2006

Where to start?
Zoe highlights for me were the vespers service and hearing Dan McVey tell about mission efforts around the world. The fact that we are no longer the center of Christianity is very exciting to me. That for instance the Chinese have started a movement called “Back to Jerusalem” they say the west has had its chance and that we are too afraid to die for Jesus. So they are literally walking the gospel all the way back to Jerusalem. Through all those lands that we might think too dangerous. God forgive us.

I have some great Nancy French quotes but I’m saving them for her book review. And some I am just saying for my own personal safety. But here’s one “Post Evangelical equals craker crazy”.

Friday night there was a row of bloggers which was neat. Saw several others during the weekend. Of course Cope was on stage and did a great job of bringing to life the story of Jacob and his dream and also the story of Jacob wrestling with God.

The late night vespers service was not well attended, not sure why. But it was great. After a time of worship we were invited to one of 3 different “stations” and then to go to the fourth and be anointed with Oil. It was really moving.

The best part of Saturday for me was visiting with different friends. Phil, Nancy, Amy, John, Donna. Saw a number of people I haven’t seen in years.

Overall Zoe was enjoyable, but to some extent I wondered if some of the people treated it like Vegas. They could go there and do what they want to but are too chicken to at home. Now, I know that many are sincerely giving their best to God.

Saturday night several of us went to the cheesecake factory. Terri almost got a face full of whipped cream. I’ve been threatened not to say too much more.

We got to visit Sunday with Kim’s sister and our brother-in-law and I went with them to Otter Creek. and afterwards to Blue Coast for our second round of the weekend.

We have been filling out our application and some other forms needed to get the process of adoption started. Its a long road. I thought that you might be interested in answering these questions that I got to answer tonight. 1. Who is Jesus Christ?
2. How does one become a Christian?
3. What does it mean to be born-again or to be born of God as mentioned in Bible passages such as John 3:3-8 and I John 3:9, 5:1, and 5:4?
4. How do you know that you have complete assurance that you are going to heaven? What Bible verses can you name that give you this assurance?
5. If you stood before Christ and he asked, “Why should I let you into heaven?” what would be your response?
6. Who is and what are some of the functions of the Holy Spirit?
7. How do you deal with the sin problem in your life?
8. What do you believe a person is to do to grow spiritually?
9. Do you have a time daily when you pray and read God’’s Word?
10. Do you regularly attend a church? What denomination or type of church do you attend?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2006 5:49 am

    It is neat reading about everyone’s experience at Zoe. It was a real treat. You seem to have a real need for safety. I am sure you did great on the questionaire.

  2. October 10, 2006 6:27 am

    Wow, those questions are intimidating. Answering them where everyone else can see them?? Hmmm, you’re braver than I. I guess I should work on that!

    Please pray for our trip. We leave in two hours. We won’t get to Mississippi until Thursday. But I’m really worried and nervous. Trying not to be. 4 kids, me and my Dad cooped up in a truck….Ahhh.

  3. October 10, 2006 6:35 am

    impressive list of questions…I too would love to see your answers.

  4. October 10, 2006 7:28 am

    So… how DO you deal with that sin problem?

    I know how I would’ve dealt with a face full of whipped cream…

  5. October 10, 2006 11:42 am

    Funny, your remark about Vegas! Well, there were at least a few ZOE leftovers at the 2nd service at Woodmont on Sunday. They were still on that high… clapping and shouting to God! Over the ZOE weekend we built up to that… So, you could see the regulars at Woodmont looking around probably wondering why someone doesn’t remind those people that they are at church!!! Simmer down, now!

  6. October 10, 2006 12:01 pm

    Paul,
    well you have to know what lines not to cross. I was pinned in the booth with Terri so, The whipped cream could have been a mistake.

    Christi, praying for your fear on the trip…try to enjoy it and see you soon.

    Donna, I was hoping all of you would answer them.

    Terri, I’ll tell you if you tell me.

    Angie, That’s pretty interesting, Sunday Christy said that she thought it was subdued from normal Zoe weekend Sunday at Otter Creek, but that there was a lot of energy.

    All, come on tackle a question or two.

  7. October 10, 2006 1:23 pm

    I really think it important that you be a leader here Tommy….I will go after you go.

    OK I will answer #10-
    Not near as regularly as I used to …but yes I would say regularly. I attend the church of Christ….the conservative though not ultra conservative branch of our denomination.

    and #9—yes

  8. October 10, 2006 5:29 pm

    I didn’t know you really wanted us to answer. Wait a minute… you mean you want us to fill out your application for you? Something’s not right here!

    1. Jesus is the one mediator between God and man… and so much more!
    2. To become a Christian is to wear the name of Jesus Christ, so there has to be a love for him and desire to be like Him that would lead to being his disciple.
    3. Saying goodbye to the old me and welcoming the Spirit of God to live in me.
    4. I can be sure b/c even when my heart tells me something different, God is greater than my heart. The whole book of 1 John was written so that I could KNOW!
    5. Well, you shouldn’t. There’s no way I’m worthy. Only because of Jesus Christ’s sacrifice do I even get a shot at this eternity with God.
    6. The Holy Spirit is part of the triune God that came to live in me when I committed my life to God through baptism. The Spirit is my comforter and helps speak for me when I can only groan.
    7. Through desperately depending on being transformed little by little and more and more into the image of Christ. There’s no getting around the sin problem.
    8. It’s more about being than doing… being in love with Jesus has been the greatest impetus to spiritual growth for me. Without that, nothing really can stand (Bible reading, prayer, going to church, etc.)
    9. Yes, but I neglect it way too often (refer to #7).
    10. These days… I’m only “regular” at Sunday church. I worship with a group of believers at a local Baptist church.

    How’s that? Are you going to psychoanalyze me? YIKES!

  9. October 10, 2006 5:34 pm

    #7 I have an ongoing problem with sin as does everyone else. I try to do a little better everyday but… God already dealt with my sin problem, he let his son die instead of me. I’m sorry he had to do that but I’m very thankful and try to show it by becoming more like his son.

  10. October 10, 2006 10:18 pm

    Those questions are certainly delving into your spirit aren’t they? Someone once told me that children don’t come with instructions. It made no sense to me because I firmly believe that the BIBLE is the instruction book for raising a child. Your home will be blessed by a child. And what a lucky one to have parents that take life so seriously. Best of luck and may God bring you the greatest joy of being parents.

Leave a Reply

