Skip to content

Climbing Jacob’s Ladder

October 11, 2006


Jacob’s Ladder – Maxwell

I stole this picture from Brandon. I noticed everybody taking pictures and naturally (I guess) they took pictures of the top but not the base. Now I have to point out that the base is as much a part of the piece as the top all though not as … well, not as seductive.

The base was actually very nice and showed a great deal of restraint. That’s a hard thing for artists and is a sign of maturity. I was talking to Jack Maxwell about this piece and the larger version at ACU. By the way, this is not a “copy” it is the original casting, the larger version is based off of it but not identical. The larger work had some changes by engineers for code compliance and Jack of course seemed unhappy with the changes in the proportions. Like the wings being thicker.

A lot of times we focus on the flashy and miss the more subtle points. And sometimes we let rules get in the way of what we are meant to be.

Sorry that was long.

The thing I wanted to say was that this whole story of Jacob’s dream is very interesting to me. So much of Jewish and Christian faith is hinged on this story. Now if you think about it, we are hinged on a story written by Moses about an ancestor’s dream. A dream. We always want to make it more than a dream…some sort of special dream, one where it was “real”. But I can’t find any indication that it was more than one man waking up and changing his and the world’s future because he believed God was in this place.

Amazing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2006 6:27 am

    Our lives can change radically when we understand that God is present with us and in us.

  2. October 12, 2006 9:59 am

    Your writing about the base of the statue reminds me of Jesus being our “firm foundation”. The beauty flows from the base upwards.

  3. October 12, 2006 2:15 pm

    God provides ladders for us all. Good reminder in that all we need to do is wake up, see them and acknowledge the One who can change our world with them.

  4. October 12, 2006 11:05 pm

    Whenever I read your posts I get these “Dead Poets Society” moments. You just have this way of taking an alternate perspective on things (art, spirituality, church, life, humor..) that gives me a whole new appreciation for them. I’m not saying that I’m standing on top of my desk here… but I’m really appreciative of that kind of gift God has placed in you, TCS…

Leave a Reply

