Skip to content

Down for the count

October 12, 2006

When I was younger I would watch Raslin out of Memphis every Saturday at 11am. It could have been called the Jerry Lawler show. The king would always be getting beat up when he would pull down his strap over his shoulder (picture a wife-beater t-shirt turned wrestling tights, missing one strap already and then it gets pulled down) and then watch out the tide is turning.

This story is strange even on the surface, an angel, “the angel of God (usually equals Jesus) or God, take your pick wrestles with Jacob. Like I said, strange. I used to read everything as pure litteral. “its in the Bible so it must be exactly like it says”. Now this could be figurative, but Moses doesn’t say that this this is a dream or vision.

Could your God wrestle with you?

Maybe the better question is, could you hold your own with God?

Jacob did. I don’t know, my guess is all of us have entered into a battle royal of wills with the Maker of the universe. We have wrestled our will against the will of God and held our own.

If nothing else we can learn that when we “tap out” with God we could ask for his blessing.

Our group tonight watched part of a Jeremy Camp DVD where he talks about the song My Desire. That it is our desire to serve God in whatever way he wants and then watched Nooma- trees which is about joining in with God in making the world between the trees a better place instead of just “being saved and waiting till judgement”.

Jacob didn’t get up from his stairway to heaven dream and then coast along waiting on heaven….he wrestled with God.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2006 7:13 am

    I don’t like arguing.

    (Tojo Yamamoto could get the best of Jerry Lawler!)

    I don’t think I could wrestle very long with God but I HAVE stood up and stated my case. We’re told to approach him boldly… I try.

  2. October 13, 2006 10:09 am

    I always thought Jacob should be on top if the angel “touched his hip”…but I never thought about him using his knee.

    Sometimes we win arguments or battles only to realize how stupid our position was….I am afraid the battles I have won with God is when he has said…”fine, have it your way” and then he let me….I think we are kind of going at it right now.

  3. October 13, 2006 10:21 am

    Terri, I didn’t say I like Lawler but that it was his show.

    Donna, exactly. We do try to hold God into a certain position. Our will is often too strong.

  4. October 13, 2006 11:14 am

    Tommy, I’ve been reading your posts this week and have been blessed by your words. Thank you for the way you share your heart and thoughts here.

  5. October 16, 2006 9:57 pm

    I find you blog very thought-provoking. This is my first visit, but I hope to get back later to read some things from your archives.

    Visit me at http://www.purgatorypenman.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Storytelling Blog Digest - Down for the count

Leave a Reply

