Skip to content

Miniatures

October 17, 2006

I came across this site for The miniature Earth which shows you some estimates of percentages of people and wealth if we reduced the total population to 100. Pretty interesting.

While on mintature things, I am for some reason craving a Krystal cheeseburger. We don’t have a Krystal here. Growing up my mother would drag me to visit her parents in Memphis and if I was lucky we would stop and eat at Krystal. I was never allowed to get as many as I wanted but being that we went out to eat about as often as we elected a new President, it was still good. Our kids realized about a year ago that the small town I grew up in had no fast food (fact is it only has one or two restaurants of any stripe) they wanted to know where I ate growing up. At home.

Our other treat was that on the way home from Memphis we would sometimes stop in Moscow (pronounced mas-cow in most of west Tennessee) at their “dairy bar” and get some ice cream. a cone for my mother and a cup for me. No sundaes or milkshakes or certainly no banana splits… too expensive. I am not sure when I had my first banana split…High school I would guess.

So what’s your favorite fast food?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2006 8:35 am

    7 layer burrito TACO BELL

  2. October 18, 2006 8:51 am

    McDonald’s Quarter Pounder with cheese — no onion — and fries.

    Hmmmm..

  3. October 18, 2006 9:19 am

    It changes weekly…sometimes daily, but one tried and true is Whopper Jr. with Cheese/combo

    We had a place in my town that had hamburgers 5 for $1.00 when I was growing up. We used to get a bag of 10 for the 5 of us….we thought it was great!!

  4. October 18, 2006 9:53 am

    I’m an expensive one. Can’t do fast food. Well, maybe Taco Bueno.

  5. October 18, 2006 12:07 pm

    I will not be in the presence of a Krystal burger… can’t bear the “aroma”. But a Whopper Jr. combo – no onions, no mayonaise – Dr. Pepper to drink… Now, that’s a feast for a princess!

  6. October 18, 2006 12:24 pm

    You know what I had a few days ago probably for the first time since I was in high school, at least . . . a cherry limeade!! And it was as good as ever.

    We called them just “Cherry Limes” but they were cherry limeades. We would squeeze the lime juice into the glass, add cherry syrup, the piece of lime, a marachino cherry on a stem, add the seltzer water and oh, they were good.

    The one I had the other day was from Sonic. I’d ordered us a couple of their grilled chicken salads (which are very good and they always add a big fat hot onion ring to the top!) and then I saw that they had Cherry Limeades. I buzzed them back and added it to my order.

    I drank most of it by the time I got home and was talking to Tom about cherry limeades and how much I’d loved them as a kid and even made my own at the local restaurant in Abernathy, Texas when all us school kids would pile in for lunch. Another thing – I’m telling y’all Texas hamburgers cannot be beat. They are different and better than anywhere else in the world.

    I’m not sure what it is about them or how or exactly why the taste is different, but they definitely are different. Bigger, unique mustard/pickle taste, onions (absolutely),etc. Makes me want to go back to Texas just for lunch!

    Later. Think I’m going to have to run up to Sonic for a second cherry limeadge in about 40 years!

  7. October 18, 2006 1:25 pm

    All of the above!

    Well, actually I’m a bit more discriminating than I used to be. I just like fast food places that are CLEAN! I have looked at the interior of an establishment while at the drive through window and cancelled my order! Oh, yes I have! I will not eat at our local Sonic… Even though I like Sonic, this one is NASTY! So, clean is an issue for me!

  8. October 18, 2006 1:54 pm

    I am with Angie on the clean bit. When I can find a clean Hardee’s (and they are few and far between), I like their Angus Burgers. Love Krystals too, but I can still taste them for a week after my visit.

Leave a Reply

