Skip to content

When I grow up.

October 23, 2006


click here to watch

I have to admit something… I am a fan of Mr. Rogers. There I said it. If you grew up in the era of Mr. Rogers neighborhood and you ever doubted if you were Ok or if you were loved. Then Mr. Rogers was a nurturing friend. I saw a interview before he died on Charlie Rose about him and the impact he had on people. I just watched the video linked here. It may be the best sermon you hear this week…that’s not really a sermon.

So much wisdom and honoring of God in this interview. If you have the time listen or watch this. If your looking for someone who you can asspire to be like at the end of this life…being a kind gentle person like Fred Rogers is not such a bad role model.

A few points that might peak your interest.

+ he talks about his sister’s adoption

+ at about 10 min. he talks about churches and finaces and why a church should always be a little in the red.

+ at about 12 min. he talks about Henri Nouwen – about how small beginnings can grow into great things with God.

+ He says that each one of us can be used in perfectly wonderful ways and it doesn’t have to do with what the world would call wonderful talents.

+ at 24 min. he talks about the difference a kind word toward someone can make in one person’s life – really incredible stuff – its like saying, “I like you just the way you are”.

+ at 25 minutes he talks about the work of the Holy Spirit.

A lot to learn here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2006 2:22 pm

    I’m a big fan of Mr. Rogers, too, Tommy. I’ll have to watch the video in a bit when I have the time. Glad you’re back on board. So . . . when will we see some comments?!

    Love ya! Dee

  2. October 24, 2006 5:50 am

    I watched Mr. Rogers long after I should have. I didn’t like the kitten meow that said meow after meow almost every meow word.

  3. October 24, 2006 7:50 pm

    Dial-up stinks! I’m not up to trying to wrestle w/my slow computer… so I’m very glad you listed some of the peak points.

    I have heard lots of similar really good things about Mr. Rogers! Makes me think of a line or two from one of Jack Johnson’s songs,

    “Where’d all the good people go? I been changin’ channels… I don’t see ’em on the TV shows…”

Leave a Reply

