Skip to content

A Red State of Mind

November 2, 2006

red-state-of-mind.jpg

I finished reading Nancy French’s “Red State of Mind” several days ago. Now her dad has beat me to reviewing it at Amazon (really!, ain’t that sweet). I also finished Donald Miller’s To Own a Dragon, a few days later, {who I know to be Nancy’s inspiration in writing}. if you doubt the Miller influence see the chapter titled “The Blind Date” where Nancy recalls meeting some fellow writers for the first time and due to their differences she says, “They apologized to us, and we apologized to them–which oddly was very meaningful, even though it was apology by proxy.” (just like Miller’s apology booth).

I have to start my “review” by noting that in Acknowledgements she thanks most of the people east of the Mississippi (including her husband David who according to Nancy is seductive), she left out bloggers in general and her blogger friends in particular. I don’t mean me (even if I did say she was Miss America), but David at A CORE Life didn’t even get mentioned. Now this is a guy who dreams about Nancy. He flew to see her in Tennessee with a “magic coconut”. I assume this is some sort of Texas code word or maybe I am just too innocent to understand. But that was my first impression.

The book is broken into perfect biblical number of seven sections. (Transitions, Kids, Politics, Life, God, Stereotypes and Country) The book starts off like Nancy doing standup. A number of laugh out loud moments for me.

I’ve got some great quotes from the last time I saw Nancy, I just can’t work them in well…a couple of the gems, that I will have to put on the Amazon review were things like, when she whispered to me “I hate Democrats” and her admission that “I didn’t come by geekiness naturally, I married into it”, as if we ever doubted. There are others…but I’ll save those for when I really need to blackmail her.

In all seriousness, the book is in a fine southern tradition of storytelling. Nancy uses self-depreciating humor to open the reader up but this is not humor just for humor’s sake. She has some points to make. Some of the points are about the differences in the way people think, some are astute observations about religion, and some are really touching points about our desire for friendship. Nancy ends with some wisdom for the “strange world” we live in, “…be patient, forgiving, and above all, gracious.”

That’s a fitting for the one who I heard yell to a banquet room full of enamoured people, “I’m the one that loves Jesus!”

You can buy the book HERE 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2006 6:56 am

    I liked the book and even though I’ve only met Nancy once, I like her, too.

  2. November 3, 2006 8:36 am

    As a Democrat, am I going to like this book??? 😉

  3. November 3, 2006 10:29 am

    Beaner, I think you would enjoy it.

    Nancy, you going to comment on if a Democrat would enjoy your book?

  4. November 3, 2006 1:05 pm

    TCS, You’re making me look bad with all these inside and inaccurate references! Of course Dems would like the book. I’ve gotten good reviews from both Blue Staters and Red Staters! Beaner, come on over to MY webpage since old Believing Thomas didn’t “believe” it was necessary to include a link to my Amazon page. At MY webpage you can read the first chapter for free… I think you’ll love it.

    Sheesh, Thomas!

  5. November 3, 2006 6:09 pm

    Thomas,

    I was deeply hurt because I was hoping that the book would be dedicated to her blogger friends. There was no mention of the influence we have had in her life — and to think that I have gone door to door to sell her books.

    Thank you for mentioning my dream. The only dreams I have had about Nancy since reading her book and finding no mention of her blog friends, all I have had is nightmares.

  6. November 3, 2006 6:14 pm

    Nancy,
    your wish is my command.. I added a link.

  7. November 3, 2006 11:50 pm

    AGH! There’s a photo of Believing Thomas on your commenty things. It looks like you’re staring at me. Why aren’t you smiling? Make it stop!

    Sorry. Thanks for the link. Wow. That’s service.

    David at CORE… Door to door? Awesome. I would really thank you in my next book if you did that.

    🙂

  8. November 3, 2006 11:52 pm

    Thomas — I just saw your Amazon review.. THANKS! You COULD have done a four star review though. My editor called me and said, “Your reviews are so good they look fake.”

    🙂

  9. November 7, 2006 11:47 am

    Nancy, you’re like Dave Berry who is out plugging his new family oriented Christmas book about a miracle Christmas dog. When asked who might like his book, he said, “why anyone with $13 would like this book! Of course!”

Leave a Reply

