Skip to content

One Way

November 8, 2006

one-way1.jpg

I do think that the over arching principle of what church is for is to be a bodily representation of God. But I have to resist the thought of there being only one answer. That old modern mindset of if you look correctly you can find THE (singular) truth.

I think that different communities of faith in the same place, can be different (on purpose). What might be right for one is not favorable to another.

My experience is that most churches are not accepting of others that are different. They think that they have all the right ways and answers and so anyone with different ways and answers must be wrong.

Some people deep down (I think) believe that they have all the right answers. But maybe not. Maybe deep down they have always had a suspicion that they were faking it. Pretending to agree, to have all the right answers.

If you have ever felt like you were faking it, well, its ok. Its not about getting it all right. Its about admitting that you can’t get it all right, but that Jesus did. Its about placing trust in him. He’s the one way. Not how you “do church”.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2006 6:43 am

    good point….one I need right now

  2. November 9, 2006 8:34 am

    I am with you on this! Have you read McLaren’s discussion of “purposeful inclusion” in The Secret Message of Jesus? I love the way he explains this.

    I excluded people for years on what I *thought* was a scriptural basis. Now, that I am changing thoughts on this–I have been on the other side and have been excluded–OUCH–is that anyway to show people Jesus?

  3. November 9, 2006 9:18 am

    I think you’ve done a great job at articulating something hard to express regarding “faking it.” I remember it well… that gnawing feeling inside that something just didn’t feel right (when I thought all my Baptist friends were hell-bound or when I rejected the instrument for my hermeneutical reasons, etc.). But when something didn’t feel right… I was taught not to trust my feelings. Feelings were bad (which felt strange to buy into as well!).

    I may be in an uncomfortable place now… but I don’t miss knowing it all. I feel more alive now than ever. Even though to some I’m now among the “wrong” at the very least… the “hell-bound” at worst (in their view).

    It ain’t easy bein’ me. But I’m just thankful to be covered by His grace!

  4. November 9, 2006 10:42 am

    If Grace is sufficient to cover our sinful natures, why not our theology?

  5. November 9, 2006 11:07 am

    I just sorry it took me so long to realize what Lee says is true.

  6. November 15, 2006 1:56 am

    oooh. good stuff here!

Leave a Reply

