Skip to content

One Way II

November 9, 2006

one-way.jpg

Funny how sometimes the same things keep coming at you from different sources. After my post yesterday, I was reading an article that Donna had sent to me several weeks ago. I had not had time to read it. But I may steal some ideas from the rest of it for later posts, but here is part I want to share related to “one way”. The question was asked regarding fears of churches going “small” that eventually paid pastors would not exist, but the response gets at the attitude I was trying to get at yesterday.

Let me say that I’m for vibrant faith communities in all forms – from micro churches and house churches and quantum and liquid churches, or whatever you want to call them – to the new monasticism work – to renewal and reinvention in the historic denominations, Catholic, Anglican, Methodist, and so on. I’m for cafe churches and megachurches and everything in between, including virtual churches. I think the worst thing we can do is get into an either-or argument. We need both-and.

So I think people who are pronouncing the death of the local congregation with a paid staff are overreacting. God knows, being a pastor is hard – it’s the hardest job I’ve ever done by far – and it deserves a person’s best effort, and responsible preparation, and it deserves a congregation’s faithful financial support. But … here’s where the both/and comes in – I also believe that we need spontaneous neighborhood faith communities that will not be able to afford a paid pastor, nor will they need one. The problem will be to find ways to do this that don’t destroy the unpaid pastor or her family. I was a bi-vocational church planter/pastor for many years, and I know that the cost on marriages and family life is often very high.

This is where the both/and comes in. What if well-funded megachurches decided to see some home-based faith communities as partners in ministry, so they could overlap and share resources and not see one another as enemies or even alternatives, but as two expressions of the same thing? That takes us in the direction I think we need to go, and will be good for the whole range of faith communities. – Brian McLaren

“not see one another as enemies or even alternatives, but as two expressions of the same thing” that’s what jumped out at me.

next time I want to get at Angie’s comment on faking it, I’ve got more to say about that.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2006 6:51 pm

    I’m looking forward to the next installment!

    (You’re on a roll, Tommy. Don’t fake it.)

  2. November 10, 2006 5:00 am

    What an odd sign that is
    God bless
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  3. November 10, 2006 10:15 am

    Somewhere along our journey we lost sight of the fact that “One Way” was a person not a group of His followers. Preach on my brother!

  4. November 10, 2006 11:21 am

    I hope I’m not in trouble.

  5. November 10, 2006 3:58 pm

    Keith, good to hear from you.
    Maria, thanks for coming by again, I have been checking your blog out.

    Lee, that is a great way of putting it.

    Ang, not in trouble that I know of.

Leave a Reply

