Skip to content

humbling

November 14, 2006

old-doctor.jpg

Yesterday was definitely Monday. There were a number of work issues that started it off as a {great} day.

Sunday we had gone to eat with some friends and the kids were all at another table. I told my friend that his kids were dumping the entire salt shaker on the table and he went to take care of business. It turned out that my oldest was the instigator. He had decided to tear pieces of napkin off and put them in the salt shaker. ( I have no idea why). Well when we got home we had a long talk. I made Eli apologize for starting that thing with the salt that night when we saw them again. I told him the reason he needed to apologize was he was not a good example to the younger kids and that when we mess up we have to apologize.

Something had been nagging at me since Saturday. Some of us were roofing a house for a lady whose ministry is to take in black male foster children 14 to 18 years old. In the process I had some unkind words about the job one of the guys had done. I’ll spare you the details. But I realized I needed to appologize. So Monday I got to lower myself and ask for forgiveness for my words. I couldn’t expect my 10 year old to do what I was unwilling to do.

Then I had to get a physical for our adoption process. The only doctor I could get in to see in the next 6 months was this guy who is (I am not exaggerating) over 80 years old. It started out normal enough and then after filling out the medical history required he said, “well you can take your clothes off now”. I was thinking all they want is a statement that say “I am healthy enough to parent”. Well he meant all my clothes after I mistakenly thought otherwise. I still don’t know why I sans trousers to check my eyesight. But he got his (I don’t know what they are called) thing to look in my ears and then the thing to look in my eyes and I swear go millimeters within kissing me as he look up and down and around my eyeballs. It was a little close standing, normally your seated and normally you of course have on clothes. Trust me that was the good part of the visit. We CHECKED EVERYTHING.

Yes, he chose to see exactly how far inside me his arm would fit. I confessed to my wife afterwards that I wasn’t sure but she may have grounds for divorce. I have decided that I will research exactly how excruciating a death prostate cancer could be. I am guessing it might be worth the risk.

I am not sure I knew what all I was agreeing to on this adoption thing.

Well tomorrow we go to get biometric fingerprints from the FBI. Nothing could possibly go wrong there. Right?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2006 12:42 am

    Found your blog through a funny tag with wordpress.

    This is pretty hilarious. 🙂 Glad I stumbled upon your blog. I’ll enjoy perusing.

  2. November 15, 2006 7:14 am

    I’m sure it’s just a hamstring – do lots of stretches. Compassion comes through suffering or so I’ve been told. 🙂

  3. November 15, 2006 10:35 am

    Oh my goodness!?!

    You’re right that you had a really “great” Monday. As in – “oh, great.” And I thought I had it tough having a carotid artery ultrasound and bit unpleasant pulmonary function tests that lasted about 45 minutes with my breathing in drasitically and blowing my lungs out!

    Hope things “shape up” a bit for you and get better, Tommy. FBI tomorrow, hunh? Not so sure about that . . .

  4. November 15, 2006 10:59 am

    I can put you in touch with the CIA…

    I keep thinking of a scene from Armageddon….oh to be a fly on the wall.

  5. Amy permalink
    November 15, 2006 11:25 am

    What a disturbing mental image. {thanks for sharing}. Yeah, after that, meeting with the FBI will be a breeze.

  6. November 15, 2006 1:50 pm

    I am on the other side of prostate cancer (so far) and can relate oh to well to your experience. I think the only thing worse than having a prostate problem and the way they check it would be going to prison, from stories I have heard. Oh, well, I will hush before we change the rating on your site. Yep, the FBI will be a breeze.

  7. November 16, 2006 1:00 am

    Good to find your site!

    God bless
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  8. November 17, 2006 12:08 am

    Oh no… This is not as painful, but if you ever go in to the dermatologist to have them check your skin for moles — they REALLY CHECK EVERYWHERE.

Leave a Reply

