Skip to content

the holiday season

December 12, 2006

well, I have got to move that elf down the screen and I have been working on a post for days and keep deleting it and starting over.  Sooooo.  I thought I would share this.

Give the gift of prayer this Holiday Season.  The holiday season is filled with temptations to conspicuous consumptions, and pleas for generosity.   The contrasts between the values represented by this time of year, and out ability to fulfill them, remind us how great the distance can be between aspirations and actions.  May we go about our rounds of preparations and festivities with a light heart and with boundless patience.  May the dissatisfactions that are part of our lot be our companions, but not our masters, as we cross the holiday threshold.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2006 4:44 am

    Excellent post! Prayer and love should fill the season with joy!

  2. December 13, 2006 11:59 am

    I wish and pray all of these things for you, Tommy!

  3. December 14, 2006 8:35 am

    A couple Christams’s ago, I made those fleece knot blankets for my kids & I prayed for them the entire time I made them. I have taken that one step further – as I’m wrapping Christmas presents, I pray for each person. It’s a few minutes to focus on others and the gifts are REALLY “wrapped in prayer” too!

Leave a Reply

