Skip to content

The Year in Review

December 27, 2006

Looking back over the blog for the past year… I looked at some posts and series that stick out to me.

January has Your Owner’s Manual, a post about not reading the Bible as a technical manual

Februrary held: On the List, a post that caused a lot of discussion locally.

Evergreen

Sacred Spaces, a post on places of importance in our lives

The series “Why/ What we Believe

March held: Old Faithful, a post about faithfulness equaling church attendence.

and Groupthink, a post on how this affects churches.

April held several posts based on Depression Era Photos starts here. and a lot of posts related to personal struggles.

May has the series on MOTC (member of the church)

June held a series of posts on “Believe me/ Don’t believe me“, Things I believe, but don’t believe them just because I do.

July has the short series on What we will Eat in Heaven.

August is mostly posts while my Dad was in the Hospital.

September holds “What now” a post about our adoption.

October was “When I grow up” a post about a great video of Fred Rogers and the series “What’s the purpose of Church”

November houses most of the “ONE WAY” series.

And December “The End of One Way“.

I will post soon what I consider the best post on this blog from the last year and the best post off of other blogs I read.

If you want to vote for the best of the above, go right ahead.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2006 5:06 pm

    I found two that I wanted to vote for but the comments had me looking like some kind of bubble headed bleach blonde so… I’ll refrain from voting. I just know that it’s easier for me to read the fluffy stuff but it makes my heart and head better to read what is coming out of your VERY intelligent (am I running a fever?) head!

  2. Amy permalink
    December 28, 2006 10:39 pm

    Too many to pick from! All I know is I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog this year.

  3. December 29, 2006 8:50 am

    I just went back and re-read some of your “old” posts you have listed here in your Year in Review and I have to say that I liked your “Sacred Spaces” post the best and your series that had all of the depression era photographs and accompanying stories. The ones on personal struggles.

    Those are my favorites. I like what I said in comment, too, to Sacred Spaces and am surprised and pleased at what I said then and why. Tom and I went over to the old Biloxi cemetery last Saturday, the 23rd, to visit his dad’s grave (and to take flowers) and while we were there we drove slowly around the entire cemetery in awe and reverence for all of those buried there.

    There are graves of people who were born well before the Civil War and who died shortly thereafter or during it. The cemetery is now “full” to the extent that there are no longer any empty spaces for people who don’t already have their plots bought and paid for as we do. Tom and his brother bought five plots when their dad died in 1966 and Tom and I will occupy two of them. I don’t know who, if anyone, will take the other two empty plots in the family plot that is surrounded by a concrete edging with the name Andrews on it.

    Perhaps no one, but that’s okay, too. It matters not to us now nor shall it then, after we are gone and buried (or rise from this earth to meet Christ in the skies).

  4. December 29, 2006 11:49 am

    My favorites were the “Depression Era Photos” Series. Your blog has been a true blessing to me! Write on my brother, write on!

  5. January 2, 2007 12:16 pm

    I discovered you late in the year (as in, post-Zoe), so I hadn’t read most of your early stuff…..enjoyed skimming through. You write well and express many of the thoughts that I wouldn’t begin to know how to put on paper.

    Praying for your family in this new year as your adoption journey continues to unfold.

Leave a Reply

