Skip to content

12th Night

January 7, 2007

Saturday Night we had our annual 12th Night party to celebrate the 12th night of Christmas and my birthday and Eli’s as well. I was given a claymore (sword) by Kim. She read a very touching tribute and explanation and then a friend played a song for me that Kim had requested.

During our 12th night celebration we read aloud together this quote which I think speaks to cynicism and the repetition of Christmas that often makes us miss its meaning.

“The thing I mean can be seen, for instance, in children, when they find some game that they specially enjoy. A child kicks his legs rhythmically through excess, no absence, of life. Because children have abounding vitality, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, “Do it again”; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony.

But perhaps God is strong enough to exult in monotony. It is possible that God says every morning, “Do it again” to the sun; and every evening, “Do it again” to the moon. It may not be automatic necessity that makes all daisies alike; it may be that God makes every daisy separately, but has never got tired of making them.

It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old, and our Father is younger than we.” Orthodoxy, G.K. Chesterton

A friend that was spending the weekend with us, mentioned wanting it…so here it is.

Now, back to 007

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2007 1:35 am

    Happy Birthday…

    and thanks for the reminder. Sometimes all I really need to change is my attitude and my enthusiasm…

  2. paul permalink
    January 8, 2007 5:59 am

    Happy Birthday! I love that quote!

  3. January 8, 2007 11:15 am

    Happy Birthday, Tommy! What day was your birthday? My son David’s birthday was Friday, Jan. 5. Was yours Friday, too, by any chance?

    As for repetition and monotony – even those two words themselves contain repetition of letters that is boring! I have to work on that too. I’m not too good with boredom.

  4. January 8, 2007 12:07 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  5. January 8, 2007 9:33 pm

    If I could’ve been two places at one time… I surely would’ve been there with all of you for 12th night! So, let’s make up for it tomorrow! I’m looking forward to seeing you and Kim and the boys for the first time this year!

    I’ve missed you guys!

    Love,
    Ang

Leave a Reply

