Skip to content

You Only Live Twice

January 10, 2007

you-only-live-twice.jpg

interestingly Sean Connery lost the bond job after this film but then regained it after George Lazenby had the job for one film.  Connery got it back so he did live twice.

Preacher Mike who is apparently laid up listening to sermons on line mentioned listening to Rob Bell’s peacemaker series… already part of my weekly routine, but yeah head over there or you can get it from itunes a as well.  I would suggest the “Jesus wants to save Christians” series.

We had a great late Christmas with Angie yesterday.  Great to hear about  the Zoe “Growing Deeper”  year/ last weekend.  And always good to spend time with her.  I got some pretty cool gifts too.

If your still looking for on-line things to do… Passion 07’s main sessions are available on line for a limited time.

Back to Bond,   Connery is the super cool Bond.  And this film like many others has him escaping in just the nick of time.   But I love the subtitle of the film.  “And ‘Twice’ is the Only Way to Live!”.

Really, that’s our message too.  We have lived twice,  and in a way will live twice.  Paul liked that metaphor a lot.  The you died to your old self, but rose again to a new self, line that he keeps coming back to.  I used to be a bit leary of the “born-again” label.  But we all need the reminder that we only live twice.  God can use you for his glory.  Its the only way to live.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2007 4:20 pm

    I had such a great time with y’all!!! It’s never a disappointment (well, I’m sure you’re run-in with the shopping cart was a bit of a disappointment!).

    Thanks for showing me part of Passion ’07. It was a big time boost to witness yet another part of the large scale ways God is carrying out His mission in the world. It’s such a pleasure to be even a small part of that.

    So, this is it… THIS is the life we’ve been given. I want to make the most of these days for His glory! Looking back at fruitless days only fuels my fire for today. Thank you for reminding me that I only live twice…

    I’m enjoying making it count with you and Kim!

  2. January 10, 2007 9:28 pm

    Hey, I like the Bond analogy for our new life in Christ.

    I bet you all had a great time last night!

  3. January 10, 2007 11:05 pm

    I find myself bondless tonight.

Leave a Reply

