Skip to content

His question

January 23, 2007

Saving Private Ryan _1998

I am always moved by this scene. The first time I saw this movie was with some guys from church. We saw it together in the theater and I drove home feeling like I had witnessed a murder. I think I was too dazed to even register this scene. Since then it moves me because of his question.

He is a man who was given a gift of life. That gift was given because too many had already died. But the gift was very, very costly. The entire movie plays out the cost of saying this one Private Ryan.

In the end, he stands before all that gave so that him and others might be free. And asks, wanting to know, Did I live a good life, Am I a good man.

With his family that he led behind him he says, “I hope that at least in your eyes I’ve earned what all of you have done for me.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2007 4:37 pm

    I hope that all of us face up to that question…and find the answer positive. Essentially we are all unworthy but we must live the life he gives us to his glory. For some of us that is plain and simple. We are not heroes. We do not fight the grand battles. We try to be good men. We try to live with good hearts. Whether anyone else recognizes that or appreciates that doesn’t matter. We live for our Maker.

Leave a Reply

