Skip to content

God wears lipstick?

February 1, 2007

sex-god.jpg

Rob Bell has a new book coming out. I have an advanced copy of the book SEX GOD. I am trying not to be a jerk about it. (Kim told me I was a bit over the top about it) But I am really excited. The first chapter is titled “God wears lipstick”. I plan on writing either today or tomorrow a post on it. Maybe a series on the book.

I’ve also been meaning to write about the newest Nooma video, “Breathe”. It is without a doubt my favorite one so far. I am planning on using it tonight in our small group time.

Amoung other things the video talks about the name of God. LORD in the NIV.

YHVH.

Some pronounce the name “Yahweh” or “Yahveh” although some traditions don’t pronounce it at all because it’s considered too sacred, too holy. Ancient rabbis believed these letters were kind of a breathing sound.

Yod, Heh, Vav, Heh.

If the name of God is the sound of breathing, how does that change the way you view yourself as a living being? How does it change the way you view others?

In Hebrew the word ‘ruah’ and its Greek counterpart ‘pneuma’ are used both as breath and as spirit. The same word. When God sends breath or spirit on Adam he lives.

To quote Rob Bell

You are a sacred creation of God. The divine breath is flowing though you, and it’s flowing through the person next to you and it’s flowing though the person next to them. You are on holy ground. There is a holiness to the people around us and how you treat them. Jesus said that whatever you do for them, you’ve done for him.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2007 3:41 pm

    How’d you get an advance copy? I have it on order w/CBD and am anxiously awaiting March 2nd!

    And, no kidding, I just watched that nooma video *today!* So it has been on my mind. Very reminiscent of the Jay Utley sermon you let me borrow for my last road trip.

    Nothing really interesting to add… just wowed by how we’re exploring some similar things at the same time! Cool!

  2. February 1, 2007 4:06 pm

    Kim most likely is right….but then I may be jealous…

  3. February 1, 2007 4:21 pm

    How does one get such a book early?

    I just know all of the wrong people.

  4. Daren permalink
    February 1, 2007 9:16 pm

    I wouldn’t say I’m a huge Rob Bell fan, but I liked most of the passage Kim gave to me to read from one of his books (or mabye it was a sermon–I don’t remember). As a sort of closet secular progressive humanist agnostic, I really like the notion in this quote of the divinity or sacredness of all things.

  5. February 1, 2007 10:12 pm

    I guess the question is, “Did Rob Bell drive down to Mississippi, knock on your door and hand you his only personal copy?” I guess I’d say “Wow!” if you said yes. As it is, it’s only a “that’s kinda neat.”

    He certainly does have great titles for his books, though. I’m looking forward to reading his book after I read your series.

  6. February 1, 2007 10:51 pm

    Darin, try sending Rob a dog bone with is name on it.
    Ray…man, that was just mean. Of course he didn’t bring it to me..he’s a busy guy.

    Daren (with the ‘e’), if you keep making comments I am going to think your joining the ‘mutual admiration society’.

  7. February 2, 2007 2:41 pm

    bark bark

  8. February 2, 2007 3:17 pm

    I’m definitely anxious to hear your thoughts on the book. Unfortunately, I have too much mandatory reading on my plate now that school has begun again, but I’ll be looking forward to reading your recommendation.

    I’ve been listening to Rob’s podcast. I’ve got to read some of his sources. I think it was on the nooma website that he lists some of his sources…could have been Mars Hill though. Every time I listen to him I’m so amazed at the source material he has uncovered about the Hebrew language and social backgrounds.

  9. February 2, 2007 3:56 pm

    About my “mean” comment: It was unintentional. In reading it again today, I might more accurately classify it as “dumb.”

    I’ll admit that it was an unsuccessful attempt at humor. It should have been funny, but it certainly was not intended to be mean.

    I’ll cop a plea for the lesser offense of being “dumb.”

    Sorry.

  10. February 2, 2007 4:33 pm

    Ray, I thought it was hilarious! Your mission was accomplished!

  11. February 2, 2007 4:36 pm

    Ray,
    I took it as humor, my reply was meant to sound whiney…no offense here.

  12. February 3, 2007 9:01 am

    Great to hear Rob has another book coming…I have really appreciated all his works. Looking forward to your series on it.

  13. February 13, 2007 4:53 pm

    If you live in Grand Rapids you can buy it at the local BandN. I did and will start reviewing it soon.

  14. Dana permalink
    February 14, 2007 12:20 am

    Are you sure you didnt just download the first chapter from Millers website???? ha

  15. February 20, 2007 10:03 pm

    Wow, quite a catchy title for a book. I have yet to read anything from Bell but am quite drawn in by that name. I know he has another book out Velvet Elvis.
    Is the book a series following up on Velvet Elvis or completely seperate?

  16. January 15, 2008 6:43 pm

    Thank you, very match !!!
    Pay attention, this site http://allprocard.com
    Very interesting information.

  17. February 17, 2009 1:17 pm

    Я смотрю вас здесь уже заспамили

Trackbacks

  1. as pire, n. - » Sex God Reviewed
  2. Ryan Imel » Blog Archive » Sex God Reviewed

Leave a Reply

