Skip to content

Back from Boot Camp

February 14, 2007

group.JPG

This is a shot of the local guys that went to Boot Camp this past week.

It’s hard to describe what it was like. It was my second time to attend and it was very different. I think the first time the exposure of my wounds made it very different for me. One of the guys said that it was very eye opening. That is a good way to put it. When the Gospel comes “The blind see, the captive is sat free, and the broken heart is healed.

This is an e-mail I got yesterday from John Eldredge that is sent out to intercessors who have agreed to pray for the ministry.

God came. Just as he said he would. He came intimately, he came deeply. Like a warrior. Like a loving father.

It was a really, really good Boot Camp. In many ways. The men were so ready, so engaged. Our team was in a great place, too. It felt like the presence of God was using the sessions more quickly and more deeply than usual. A rich, profound time. Hundreds of men, experiencing such deep connection with God, and in him healing and release from life-long wounds, bondage, entrapments. Freedom. Life. Like they never knew was possible. How do you describe this?

We’re exhausted, as is to be expected. But doing well. I’ll gather some details for you. For now I wanted to let you know, it was beautiful. Beautiful. Thanks for keeping us in your prayers this week, against all forms of retaliation. In Jesus’ Name.

John, for all of us.

kp-god.JPG

KP sitting during one of our covenants of silence.

The boot camp is about restoring the masculine heart, but it is more than that. It is based on an understanding the of all the passages Jesus could have chosen to describe his purpose, he choose Isaiah 61. That Jesus came “to seek and save that which was lost” not just to seek and save the lost. As that verse is usually quoted. What was lost? In part the relationship in the garden. Christianity is not just about getting saved and holding on until death. It is about abundant life and about healing and restoration and intimacy with God. highropes.JPG

It was not all teaching and meditation. We hiked, rode the screamer which was a 50 foot fall swing. Where you step off a platform and free fall for a second or two before the swing grabs. We also did the High Ropes course. The above picture is of some other guys at the end of the ropes course. You jump out for a trapeze at the same time as your partner. One guy obviously missed. Greg and I both grabbed it. I apparently jumped sooner and pulled down the bar which is on springs, he almost went over the bar!

The mountains were beautiful, but the way that God showed up was way more beautiful than that.

+

Despite Dana’s comment I do have the rest of Sex God, and have almost finished it. Just been too busy to post. Rob Bell’s definition of sexuality is far broader or maybe deeper than most folks. You might say it is about really being human and how that is connected to God. Very interesting chapter on being animal or angel. I hope to start posting some on the chapters this week.

+

Anyway, its good to be back home. I discovered some things about myself and also about God. It felt like a time of fathering.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2007 12:17 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time and I know you were blessed beyond measure. Glad you are back.

  2. February 14, 2007 12:49 pm

    Ladies and gentlemen… Big T is back!

    Welcome back to blogland, Tommy.

  3. February 14, 2007 1:12 pm

    Sounds interesting.

  4. February 14, 2007 4:12 pm

    I’m deathly afraid of heights, Tommy, so even looking at those pictures of you guys is gut wrenching for me! There’s no way I could do that sort of thing.

    I like being anchored in front of my computer just fine!

    Glad you’re back. But question – wasn’t it awfully cold up there out in the Colorado mountains? And how did you do with the altitude? Obviously a lot better than I did! Good ol’ ICU in Durango, Colorado!!

    Cheers! Dee

  5. February 14, 2007 4:26 pm

    Well, the heights are a bit unnerving. as for the cold. Thanks to Columbia I was warm. It is so much dryer it doesn’t feel as cold to us southern folks. The altitude (9000 ft) was good for mountain goats and Kevin. I felt like I was running a marathon, but no altitude sickness.

  6. February 14, 2007 4:59 pm

    The rope course looks way cool!
    I am glad you were all blessed to be there. ONe question: are you with all of the guys you came with when you are exposing old wounds? Just curious as to how that goes.

  7. February 14, 2007 5:03 pm

    well the “teaching” sessions are with 400-500 guys. all in the room so yes. Both times this was unlike any group of men I have ever been around. No posing (well not much) so tears from many and at other times a lot of yells and hollering at movie clips. But most sessions are ended with an hour or so of time out alone where you are given some question or questions to take to God. So some of it happens alone.

    It is amazing to see small groups of guys hugging/praying together, laying hands on some, some just in obvious deep conversation.

  8. February 14, 2007 5:14 pm

    I’m glad there were so many to keep you out of trouble on that trapeze thingy! I THINK I might like to try that.

    I hate exposing wounds but… it DOES make them better after a while.

  9. greg permalink
    February 14, 2007 8:47 pm

    my invisibility super power DOES work…ha!

  10. February 14, 2007 9:36 pm

    Greg S. I don’t know how you stayed out of every picture! I will have to check with Mann, he was snapping some with his phone. He may have a picture of the mythical Spurgeon.

  11. February 16, 2007 12:38 pm

    Is that an angel on Greg’s eye???

  12. johndobbs permalink
    February 16, 2007 11:15 pm

    I love everything about what you wrote and would love to particpate in this…but seriously… I get dizzy standing on a chair to change a light bulb. I would in no way climb up the high ropes. I know, I’m whining. But I love John Elderidge’s writings and would love to go to this kind of a retreat. Thanks for sharing!

  13. February 17, 2007 10:01 am

    JD, you should go. If you want to go next time we do let me know.

Leave a Reply

