Skip to content

She Ran Into the Girls’ Bathroom – Chapter 5

February 19, 2007

rob-bell-live.jpg

Love is risky.

That is the message (at least one of the messages) from this chapter.

Anytime we move toward another in any way, we are taking a risk. A risk that she may say no. Our gesture may not get returned. Our invitation may be rejected. Our love may not be reciprocated.

Rob talks about the ache and heartbreak that is universal. It’s universal he says because it is something as old as the world and something that God feels.

God as a lover is an image that many are uncomfortable with. Its throughout scripture but for the super logical based it is tough. That is why I think many don’t know what to do with the Psalms. A complete aside but you can probably tell a lot about a congregation or denomination by their use of or lack of use of the Psalms. Back to Rob.

This raises questions about what is at the base of the universe. What, or maybe we should say who, is behind it all?

A list of rules?

A set of beliefs, which you either believe or you don’t, and if you do, you’re in, if you don’t, your out?

A harsh judge and critic, who’s making a list and checking it all the time?

An impersonal energy such as fate, destiny, luck, chance, or the force {yes he’s talking about StarWars} that you can tap into if you know the code or the technique or the philosophy?

The story the Bible tells is of a living being who loves and who continues to love even when that love is not returned. A God who refuses to override our freedom, who respects our power to decide whether to reciprocate, a God who lets us make the next move.

He talks about how love is a giving away. It is exposing yourself and being vulnerable. He has a great section talking about the cross and its meaning.

Our healing begins when we participate in the suffering of God. When we don’t avoid it but enter into it, and in the process enter into the life of God. When we see our pain not as separating us from but connecting us to our maker.

And in this connection, there’s always the chance we’ll find a reason to risk again.

If God can continue to risk, then maybe we can too….

…A decision not to risk again is a decision not to love again. They go together.

So love for God is a risky thing like a boy at a Jr. High dance asking a girl if she would like to dance with him.

A question for you might be, are there areas where I have stopped risking?

Are there people that I have given up on risking?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2007 10:51 pm

    I sometimes try to keep my professional life so separate…I often don’t take the risk of getting to know my coworkers well enough to “love them”.

    I also seem to keep new friends at arms length…not purposely, yet I seem to have a fear of bonding too deeply with anyone new….

    Can you diagnose me?

  2. Darin permalink
    February 20, 2007 9:18 am

    That is good stuff.

    I must confess I am not reading as much because I plan on getting the book this week and I don’t want to blow the ending.

    Thanks for sharing it.

  3. February 20, 2007 10:37 am

    Good Stuff! I actually have a better time seeing God as a lover than a Father (Yeah…I still have issues!!!)

    I’ve given up on some of my family – just hoping God will use someone else to get to them.

  4. February 20, 2007 12:11 pm

    Hi – I just recently stumbled upon your blog while I was searching for stuff for a Rob Bell post for my blog “An Illini LIfe”. I’m enjoying your posts and I especially like the “sites I believe in” section. I noticed you like Dallas Willard and NT Wright – they are two of my favorites as well. Thanks for the review – I ordered my copy of Sex God this past weekend!

Leave a Reply

