Skip to content

Whoopie Forever

February 25, 2007

 nooma.jpg

Gumballs that come with Nooma Videos 

The final chapter of Rob Bell’s Sex God carries the title ‘Whoopie Forever.’  Now I have to admit when I saw the title in the Table of Contents, my first thought was that I had heard this thought before and thought I knew where he was going.  The book Sex in Marriage is Not OK, has a chapter that talks about the idea that sexual ecstasy is a taste of what Heaven will be.

Rob starts out this chapter, “Sometimes when I hear someone talking about the “Christian ideal” for sex and marriage, I laugh.”

This leads into a discussion of singleness, marriage and the temporary nature of our lives.

The chapter ends with a Ray Vanderlan moment.  (see “Follow the Rabbi” link to the right).  Rob describes the Jewish tradition of engagement and waiting, of adding a room to your father’s house and the groom’s return to get his bride.  It’s a beautiful connection of the imagery that Jesus uses to describe our relationship.

Well, there, that’s the end of some thoughts from the book.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2007 8:20 am

    That picture reminds me of something….something that happens with waiting! 😉

  2. February 26, 2007 8:58 am

    Beaner, Beaner…

    Well the Whoopie kind of fizzled didn’t it……I am sure you were excited on the inside!

  3. February 26, 2007 11:03 am

    Yeah, sorry about that! Too many days cooped up in the house & look what happens!

  4. February 26, 2007 11:41 am

    The chapter didn’t fizzle out, I just didn’t want to ruin it and it was more of a one liner to me. Most chapters seemed to have so many tangents that you could explore. I would pick one to post and not ruin the reading of the chapter. This one is almost purely about Sex as a symbol of eternity. It does have the Jewish engagement part, but for many that may be old news. It has some great communion tie ins.

  5. Sarah Terpstra permalink
    March 17, 2007 11:10 am

    I’m trying to find the book: Sex in Marriage is Not Okay, and i can’t find it through Google. Do you know the publisher or author. Sounds like an interesting title.

  6. Sarah Terpstra permalink
    March 17, 2007 11:11 am

    My site is theislandisaparadise.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

