Skip to content

300

March 12, 2007

300

That the title is written in blood might be a clue. I went Friday night (the family was out of town) to see 300. Visually a very different style of movie. The action sequences were a lot like The Matrix. Just beautifully done. But lots of Blood. Not a movie for the faint of heart.

I would have to watch it again to gain what scenes were ones that echo with “The Story”. The idea of standing against the “King of the World” with his legions against you and only a few is one that rings true.

At its core its a movie about freedom.

If your interested there are two reviews (one for, one against) of  the movie at this LINK. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2007 6:25 pm

    Tom and I went to the movies yesterday and I don’t remember seeing 300. Lots of blood is not my kind of movie, anyway, but I let him talk me in to going to see Zodiac. Who would have guessed – it turned out to be a really compelling movie about the cops and journalists who became obsessed with finding the killer, which took over 30 years and is still not settled.

    My review of Zodiac is “two thumbs up!”

    300 – I’ve never heard of it and it certainly doesn’t sound like my kind of movie, but I’ll tell Tom about it.

    Been missing you over at Finding Direction, Tommy!

    Love ya! Dee

  2. March 12, 2007 8:42 pm

    Hey Dee, it was only the number one movie this weekend. It grossed over $70 million this weekend. I should also say that the movie is about bravery, agonizing sacrifice. courage. leadership that is worth following, a good fight and that looks hopeless but is still fought for the sake of honor or what is right.

  3. kentuckycolonel permalink
    March 13, 2007 8:38 pm

    I felt the cinematography with little of brilliant colors and kinda fuzzy contrast added to the ‘darkness’ theme. It does have a very strong theme of honor and patriotism… I think it will be a good recruiting film for the military! Appeals to the ‘warriorhood’ in men…..ya think?

    Carl

  4. March 13, 2007 8:57 pm

    Carl,
    I don’t know if people join the military due to a film or not…maybe. It definitely appeals to the desire for a battle to fight. I took the sepia tones and such as a move to be artsy…but your review was right on.

    Thanks for stopping by. You’re welcome anytime.

Leave a Reply

