Skip to content

Christians do away with Grace

May 18, 2007

glove.jpg

Things are busy these days with baseball and softball going at the same time.  I’m playing on the same church league team this year… “The Christians”.   Last night we defeated Grace.  Doesn’t it always seem to go that way?

Earlier this week the Church of God bloodied up The Christians pretty good…so we are 1-1.

Caleb’s team won again last night.  We play again tonight.

Tomorrow I get to hand out drinks at a trail run.  A good friend is starting this as a fundraiser for a local charity that takes in boys as foster kids that nobody else wants.  I can’t say how proud I am of him in combining these things that he is passionate about and bringing God’s will to them both.

And for the record I AM the old man on the team.  I’ve been playing softball for more summers than a couple of guys have been alive.  Yikes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2007 9:55 pm

    There is just something dreadfully wrong with doing away with Grace…but I am glad you won! I played church league slow pitch for years and there seemed to be a lack “Christian” attitudes around the bases. It sure was fun though!

    I have gone to two high school girl’s softball games this week. I just saw a qualifying round for state tonight. I love softball.

    I grew up going to watch my four sisters play even before I was old enough to play baseball. That was a huge part of my growing up.

  2. May 19, 2007 7:08 am

    You could become the new Julio Franco of the church leagues, Tommy!

  3. May 19, 2007 7:51 am

    Did away with Grace, hunh?! Well, you fit right in with typical Mississippi Christian thinking in doing that . . .

    On another note – you always have the neatest graphics of any blogger I know, Tommy. Where on earth do you find all of those? And how do you have the time to hunt them all down? I’m always amazed at your graphics. You’d think you were into visual arts or something . . . like an architect, maybe . . .

  4. Daren permalink
    May 21, 2007 9:44 am

    Also the old man on my team. We’re 5-1. I’ll hit one out tonight for all of us old timers who just can’t let go.

  5. May 21, 2007 7:14 pm

    This has nothing to do with softball but…

    I’m going back to read your review on “Sex God”. I started reading Donna’s copy of the book at Pepperdine and bought myself a copy. I’m really enjoying the book. I couldn’t help being put off by the title at first but I really like the book. I just wanted you to know why I’m digging around in your archives!

  6. May 22, 2007 9:55 am

    Funny post.

    Some of the absolutely worst excuses for sportmanship I have seen though has been in church league softball games.

    Kill the Baptists, yea! We always wanted to say, so softball gives us that outlet- and Jesus approves, don’t you know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

