Skip to content

building with a plan

June 7, 2007

The Boys have been enjoying the beach despite the fact that we have been at red flags all week except for one day we got down yellow.

Yesterday we went over to Seaside so I walk around and see how thing have evolved over there since the last time I was there. Its a very interesting place. And it has impacted so much planning but to me most of the houses are a bit heavy on the gingerbread. My favorite house there remains one that has to be the most restrained. I have been wanting to get some photos of the chapel there. It too is very restrained in comparison to the houses. Here it is.

This reminds me of the amount strategic planning that churches have when they start or even the lack there of when they move from one generation to another. Seaside faces a new generation and the founder has returned to help lead the community toward a more elegant and refined town center. It seems most churches either don’t see the need or they are too proud to ask for any help.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2007 5:36 am

    I really like Seaside. Several folks around here have homes there but… I’m not one of them! 🙂

  2. June 9, 2007 8:47 am

    Love the high, arching ceiling of the chapel; the simplicity of the lines; the welcoming of light into the worship area. It reminds me a bit of Thorncrown Chapel.

  3. June 14, 2007 9:27 am

    Great pics. I have a friend who goes each year to Seaside. I have never been, but he loves it.

    Glad you are enjoying the sand and the sun.

Leave a Reply

