Skip to content

Rob Bell Oozes

July 4, 2007

rob-bell.jpg

Apparently Rob Bell’s vocal opponents are growing and the amazing thing is they are reading the Ooze.  Apparenlty if you read THIS INTERVIEW  you will either love the answers or hate them.

There are a number of answers that I thought were great.  I’ll start with this one

Now you are a Pastor of one of the largest churches in America. Are there any similarities that you can draw on from be the leading singer in a band to being a Pastor?

Well, when you’re in a band, if you aren’t connecting with people they leave, they just walk out. No one has any allegiance to a band. What do people say,? “I’m going to go check out a band,” which means “I am to go stand in the back and if they aren’t very good I’m going to leave.” So when I got into Seminary and I did my first sermons I asked the question “why would we spend time doing something that isn’t great?” Nowhere else in your life do you give your time things that aren’t great. You don’t go sit through movies that you don’t like. You don’t pay for things that aren’t of a certain caliber that compel you in a certain way. So when I got into teaching my assumption was that the Jesus revolution ought to be the best thing going or do something else.

To this day I meet people who go to church because their supposed to; I absolutely cannot begin to comprehend that. You don’t do this in any other area of your life. You know you meet people who say they are just going through the motions, well why? You don’t do that, you take that CD out and put another CD in, I don’t get it. So back to the question, I guess being in a band has shaped me in some profound ways.

Most churches (I think) are not even on the radar with this question.  They do things the way they do things out of tradition and in their minds they truly believe that is precisely how God wants them to be done.  The idea that on any given Sunday somebody might be checking them out and not get it and walk out is not an option to them at all.

So do you attend church because you are supposed to?  There have been times that I have done that and I do get it but it’s not a very good reason.  I guess it could carry you to a time when you are involved for another reason.  But so could not being involved.  To think otherwise is to think that God only works when people are attending church.

No matter what your theology, most churches could use a healthy dose of placing excellence in all they do at the forefront.

No matter what your theology, most Christians could use a healthy question of “Why do I do this?, why do I attend church?”.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2007 2:09 pm

    Thank you for introducing me to Rob’s pod-cast. I am at church with Mars Hill every week…sometimes two or three times a week….

  2. July 5, 2007 1:16 pm

    Hey, Tommy –

    This is a cool post. And Rob Bell sounds like a really cool guy. I’ll have to get his pod-cast info from you too when you have the time. I’d like to listen to him. I’ve never read anything by him although I hear his name a lot.

    Dee

  3. July 5, 2007 5:17 pm

    I disagree that nobody has any allegiance to a band.

    There a fans of bands who would still be fans if their bands opened for a speech on tolerance by Hitler, or a debate on integrity between Bill Clinton and Newt Gingrich, or even a solo by me.

    Okay, that last one might be taking it a bit too far.

  4. July 5, 2007 7:23 pm

    I think he is referring to how someone might go to check out a local band at a club. If it stinks you just leave. You don’t say, “I have stay”.

  5. July 8, 2007 7:37 am

    Back when we would go and check out different bands word of mouth was usually the most positive motivator to even get me in the door. If people are just going because they are supposed to go or the denomination is the one they were raised in and they have no passion for what God is doing in the place that will contribute to the problem.

    I often enjoyed a band as much because I was with friends as any thing that was about the music.

Leave a Reply

