Skip to content

trip to camp

July 12, 2007

Yesterday we all went to visit at the summer camp which I have been a part of the staff for over a decade and a director for most of that time.  I blogged before about some issues at camp Here. I expected that not being there this week would be very hard.  Thankfully that has not been the case.   Although I did wake up one night last week very upset about it all.  I received a nice voice mail hoping I would come up and visit and so we headed up for the day yesterday.

There were a few comments that were loaded, but mostly just people glad to see us and that missed us.  I have known but was immediately reminded just how denominational and sectarian that camp is.  A friend was telling about how one counselor had berated some young campers for clapping for a fellow camper after he had led a song.   I would give you the quote but its so silly I will leave it out.    I hate my kids will not be a part of camp as I had always thought but in many ways I am glad they will not be getting fed some of that stuff.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. johndobbs permalink
    July 13, 2007 7:45 am

    Amen, Tommy … it is better not to perpetrate this kind of psuedo-spirituality. Now if we could gather ten rich Christians and found a youth camp to be a lighthouse …

  2. July 14, 2007 2:44 pm

    Psalm 47 is very clear about clapping in praise of God.

    If all the nations don’t do it simultaneously, then it must be forbidden.

    Right?

  3. July 16, 2007 9:07 am

    I’m glad you were invited to camp, Tommy, but really hate to hear about what’s going on there and the warped views on things that are coming from there. Wow, that’s shocking to me, although I shouldn’t be surprised by ANYTHING any more now should I.

    Dee

  4. July 16, 2007 11:39 am

    Tommy,

    I went and read your earlier blog entry, I didn’t come around back then.

    I know exactly how you feel. I too was very involved in a camp, my brother is the director, I have many relatives who are councilors. When we made our choice three years ago this was one area that I was concerned about. I didn’t know how that would impact me.

    We return each year to visit for a couple of days but it is different. I too thought it would be harder than it was. It is interesting but since I have changed a lot and the camp has changed so it doesn’t seem as awkward.

    Two of our kids will be going this year, I took my son with me starting when he was 3 and he still loves to go.

    The former director is someone who impacted me greatly who now thinks I’m lost. It is interesting when you move outside the circle what happens. Sounds like it served as a good reminder.

Leave a Reply

