Skip to content

The Bible Suspender?

July 16, 2007

god_and_america.gif

This map is from a study by the Glenmary Research Center which is a Catholic entity. But they also have created the WEB SITE which has a ton of information about different denominations by local and across the US. You can at a glance see who is growing and who is not. If you notice something in particular that is interesting I would love to hear your take on it.

One thing that I think is interesting (ht to ysmarko) the Bible Belt has flipped. It is now a suspender (I’m going to copyright that) . The Bible suspender seems to go from Texas to North Dakota. Tornado alley may be the cause. I’ve been to North Dakota, the winter there would surely make you seek out God or a revolver. But I’m not sure what else is the cause.

So how is your county?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2007 10:50 am

    Very interesting. My county (in Illinois) is the big yellow one in the middle of the state. I find it interesting that I came from Chicago to a smaller, more rural area, and I went from a red to a yellow. I would have thought that it would be backwards, but maybe it’s because I went from a Catholic county to a Protestant one. Maybe Catholics are more adherant in my state? Maybe it’s because Chicago has a lot of immigrants who are more religious than their more “Americanized” counterparts?

  2. July 16, 2007 10:52 am

    Oh yeah – I’m JUST talking about my own state here – obviously there’s the whole Bible Belt/Suspender area with it’s own reasons.

  3. July 16, 2007 11:44 am

    I was thinking secular sandwich.

  4. July 16, 2007 12:47 pm

    Interesting statistic. Surprising really in light of how much of government and business is still run in our area by the attitudes of the church at large…

  5. July 16, 2007 2:15 pm

    Population concentration accounts for much of the darker color (suspender). The chart really points out that even though there are churches on every corner, there is still a vast majority of people not darkening the door. Right here where the buckle of the Bible belt has been for years, just under half are unchurched.

    I found this site a couple years ago and it really has some interesting stuff.

  6. July 16, 2007 3:01 pm

    My area, which includes three counties in Lansing-East Lansing, MI:

    Percent of Population Claimed by
    Reporting Groups: 37.5%

    This is both at the same time depressing AND exciting.

  7. July 17, 2007 9:06 am

    Pearl River County makes a strong showing, which doesn’t surprise me in the least. There are dozens and dozens of Baptist churches around here and many Blacks are religious, as well.

    It is also interesting to see that where we lived before, over in Southeast Louisiana just northeast of New Orleans, is predominantly religious. Over there the predominant religion is Catholic, which means that everyone IS one, but not many practice their religion if you ask them, comparatively speaking.

    Looks like the rest of the Gulf Coast is up for grabs, though. I real mission area. Especially over in Florida.

    Very interesting.

    Dee

Leave a Reply

