Skip to content

meme

July 24, 2007

JAT at Faith 2.0 tagged me in a meme. Now this is an unlikely tag in that I never took him to be the type to play along. I have to admit that I am wondering if in fact he thinks so poorly of my comments on his blog that I seemed a likely target for this. But since everybody else seems to be playing along, I guess I will too.

The Rules:

  1. Players start with 8 random facts about themselves.
  2. Those who are tagged should post these rules and their 8 random facts.
  3. Players should tag 8 other people and notify them they have been tagged.

1. I think being asked to play a meme is a bit like the kid at church selling two square feet of wrapping paper for $20. It is to support his school (supposedly). Not buying makes you seem rude.

2. I am rude. (ok, I hear some of you saying that’s not random and is well known)

3. I have raced at the Memphis Motorsports Park (drag racing)

4. I can’t lick my elbow.

5. I can still remember eating chocolate covered ants at the Mid-South Fair when I was young.

6. Messy doesn’t even begin to describe my office.

7. I was president of the Student Government when I was a senior in High School. I ruled over….nothing. We only met the one time to take a picture for the annual.

8. I know at least one of you who will try to lick your elbow.

9. just so I can break the rules, we are still adopting.  The wait from China just keeps growing and growing.

In case you can’t tell, I find this a very difficult exercise.

Oops, I forgot to tag anyone. so, if you want to play along, say so in a comment and I promise I will come read and comment. Something witty of course.

And since Dee has already asked before I even updated. A meme is :An Internet meme is a piece of digital content that spreads rapidly, widely, and organically from person to person on the Internet. The term is a reference to the memes as virus-like self-replicating packet of information. So says Wikipedia…so it has to be correct.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2007 2:26 pm

    Yeah, well I got as far as thinking about trying to lick my elbow & then I read #8. Thanks for sparing me!!!

  2. July 24, 2007 2:27 pm

    You and me both. I thought the very same thing when John Alan tagged me, Tommy! How funny. And I did it, too, even though I hate playing these. Just a big sucker, me. Especially for the younger guys.

    I have a question for all of you brilliant people out there. What on earth does “meme” mean, anyway? Is it the initials for something or just “me . . . me” as in I want to do that, or what? I’ve seen the word around the blogs forever and have no clue what it is. Please advise, someone.

    Thanks, Tommy! Dee

  3. July 24, 2007 2:31 pm

    Dee, I answered your question in the update on the post.

  4. July 24, 2007 4:14 pm

    Ok, I did it.

  5. July 25, 2007 8:22 am

    I am so normal and well adjusted….there are just not 8 things I can think of…

  6. July 25, 2007 9:39 pm

    Chocolate covered ants?

    I always enjoy tricking some poor soul into trying calf frys at the fair. It is really good when they are liking them then want to puke when they find out.

Leave a Reply

