Skip to content

The Deathly Hallows- Telling THE Story

July 28, 2007

harry-potter.jpg

I wanted to write a review of Harry Potter book 7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows sold almost 8 1/2 million copies in the U.S. in the first 24 hours of its release. The story resonates with many. I think there is a reason for that.

When Harry Potter first gained popularity in the U.S. many in the Christian community protested. They warned about the instructions given to Abraham’s descendants, regarding witchcraft and those that speak to the dead. They warned of children being deceived into a life of sorcery or worse.

There has been a loss of story and myth as a tool for teaching in most of the church over the years. Myth and Story used to convey what was important to us. What does that have to do with Harry Potter?

Harry Potter has since the beginning been a story of Good verses Evil. From the beginning we knew that Harry was the hope of the wizarding world against He who must not be named.

In Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows the quotations at the beginning of the book let us know this is a book about death. And it doesn’t take long before both Mad Eye and Hedwig are dead. My eleven-year-old was more upset about Hedwig. Early in the book we are reminded at the Burrow that Harry is our best hope. In this book Harry goes on the run. In some ways similar to the story of Jesus going to the wilderness. Harry is tempted by the three deathly hallows. The power of the wand, the ability to rule over the dead, and the ability to hide even from death. Not completely unlike Jesus’ temptation.

But where the book takes on THE story is in the end. Harry learns that to win over evil will require death. His death. And he learns that he will have to lay down his life and not fight but allow He who must not be named to kill him. And he does of course. We then find Harry with a choice and he comes back to life. And doing so he wins the final victory.

I thought considering all the expectations this was one of if not my favorite books. My favorite parts were Dumbledore admitting his weaknesses and Percy’s return to his family and how they quickly accepted him. I thought the epilogue was well done and the ending with Harry bending down to speak to his son secured that he was in fact a very good man.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2007 7:28 pm

    I agree that it was great. I also noticed more scripute spattered through this book. The imagery and the message was very well done.

  2. July 28, 2007 9:09 pm

    It’s hard for me to comment since I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books, nor have I seen any of the movies, but your book review is very well done and informative as well as rewarding.

    Thanks for it, Tommy. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to give us your perceptions of the book and the messages.

    Dee

  3. July 29, 2007 1:13 am

    Okay I am up at 2 am because I simply could not put the book down. I was up til 3 last night. I saw the title of this post earlier in Bloglines and quickly clicked away so as not to find out what happened. But I had to come back and read your post, I am so moved by this story.

Leave a Reply

