Skip to content

Movie Lines

October 27, 2007

From Lonesome Dove:

Woodrow Call: What do you want legs for anyway? You don’t like to do nothing but sit on the porch and drink whiskey!
Gus McCrae: I like to kick a pig every once in a while. How would I do that?

On of my favorite lines.   What is your favorite movie line?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2007 10:50 am

    that would be an easier question if were to ask, “what is your favorite movie to quote?” that answer would be “the princess bride.” my daughter and i will sit and watch it and just about quote the thing while it is playing.

    one of my favorite lines is from when they are on the boat and sailing to the cliffs of insanity, and fezzik and inigo are rhyming and vizzini yells, “stop your rhyming! i mean it!”

    and fezzik says, “anyone want a peanut?”

    i also like the monologue of “the ancient booer” when she rattles of the descriptions she has of princess buttercup. it cracks me up!

  2. October 27, 2007 11:03 am

    Kenny, great movie! we quote it a lot too.

  3. October 27, 2007 4:19 pm

    Oh my gosh, he took my favorite. Seriously, I was about to type that and then looked at Kenny’s comment. Shoot.

    Actually I watch way too many movies to have ONE favorite quote. Sheesh, I’ve rated almost 700 on Netflix. But one that comes to mind at this moment is from Rent – “The opposite of war isn’t peace; it’s creation.”

  4. October 27, 2007 4:20 pm

    Oh, and Kenny, really it’s, “No more rhymes; I mean it!” Sorry, I’m a stickler.

  5. October 27, 2007 6:25 pm

    I too have trouble with just one…I too can over-quote The Princess Bride.

    I also like :
    “I wouldn’t say I’ve been missing it Bob”-Office Space
    “Now don’t go accusing me of thinking”- Sweet Home Alabama
    “I’ve had better”- Liar, Liar

  6. October 28, 2007 12:24 pm

    how about this line from office space:

    “i think you have my stapler?”

  7. October 28, 2007 12:28 pm

    sorry yankeeamanda, we in the south sometimes misquote thangs. you are correct, though!! good call. that is my favorite movie, though.

    i showed the line from when princess buttercup finally realizes what wesley is telling her when he answers, “as you wish.” in my sunday morning class. john oertburg(?) (not sure on the spelling amanda) used that line, too, when he was talking about how God shows us love even when He does explicitly say, “I love you” to us.

    good movie.

  8. October 28, 2007 12:49 pm

    From “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”: “African or European?” and “I’ve had worse.”

    From Star Trek VI: “On Vulcan, we have a proverb: ‘Only Nixon could go to China.’ ” … and the immortal “I’ve been dead before.”

  9. October 28, 2007 9:34 pm

    Love the Star Trek lines KB!!

Leave a Reply

